PDA

View Full Version : multiplay locks up


csaddict
05-18-2002, 07:19 PM
I just started playing and the multiplayer loads the server info and locks my machine up right when I join the game. I made a server and it plays fine and people can join and play. Any ideas?

Darth Ingenious
05-23-2002, 04:27 AM
Happens to me as well. SP runs fine and MP runs fine only if I create my own server with or without internet connection. It is only when I go to join a server, with or without internet connection, the game immediately locks up. I have to reboot the HDD and it sucks. I will try a few things. 1) Disable firewall/antivirus 2) Disable soundcard 3) Lower my video settings.

Oh by the way, I have not downloaded any patches. My older system (K62500 had vid problems) on SP, my new setup Duron 1.2 Riva TNT2 M64 runs fine.

May the force be with us all :evanpiel:

Darth Ingenious
05-23-2002, 05:16 AM
Ok here's the deal,

Adjusted video settings: no effect

Closed firewall and antivirus programs: no effect

Disabled onboard sound card: FOUND PROBLEM!

Apparently my sound card is faulty with MP, I also noticed my sound even on low setting was a bit choppy. I have to further investigate direct X sound compatabilities to know more, but for now, just disable your sound card and you can get past the lock up on joining a server.

I also found that I had a hard time joining a server without getting error messages and at one point where I almost loaded into play, my comp locked up~damn!

I hope this helps

May the force be with us all :evanpiel: