PDA

View Full Version : Logfile parameters


michadmin
05-21-2002, 08:00 PM
The Quake III settings for generating log files are (from the AEstats instructions):

- logfile 0 //no logfile
- logfile 1 //buffered
- logfile 2 //continuous
- logfile 3 //append

Can anyone explain the differences between these modes (I'm assuming they're the same for JKII)? I intend to parse these logs no more than once a day. What are the server performance impacts on the different modes, if any?

Thanks in advance!

Jon
MichAdmin

disdainmsh
05-22-2002, 01:57 AM
I'm not 100% sure the difference between 1 and 2, but I believe both of them will generate new logs each time the server is restarted or gametype is changed. 3 will keep adding onto the .log file even with server restarts or game changes.

A related question, does anyone know how to change where the .log file is generated? I don't want it to go into my base folder, but rather into my aestats folder so I can parse it there.

MatrixCPA
05-22-2002, 02:10 AM
I can say with certainty that g_logfile "2" does not create a new file each time the server is restarted, but rather appends to the existing file. I don't think it's necessary to move the log file. Just create a symlink to it in the folder you want to use. I do that and it saves me the trouble of messing with the log dirs.

disdainmsh
05-22-2002, 02:48 AM
Hrmm,

I don't know of an easy way to do that on a Win2K machine ;(

MatrixCPA
05-22-2002, 02:49 PM
You could, alternatively, just tell aestats where the log file is kept and parse it there.

disdainmsh
05-22-2002, 04:03 PM
I tried that, but using the command prompt I can't get it to see the log file with all the spaces in the command line, e.g. c://program files/lucas arts/ etc.

I tried using _ to fill the gaps, but it was a no go. I'm sure it's something simple, but damned if I can remember how.

IG-72
05-22-2002, 05:20 PM
disdainmsh:

Need to use the short filenames equivalent to change the that path.

IE c:\progra~1\

Don't know what the whole path would look like. I forgot the rules with the ~! cancatenation.

disdainmsh
05-22-2002, 06:52 PM
Still can't get it to work ;( I tried the short file names, and it still didn't want to see the directory. I tried moving the AEstats folder into my gamebase directory, and I can get it to work there, but then I can't get a shortcut working so that I can automate it.

I'm trying to use

"C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\AEstats.exe" +duel.mlg

but it doesn't want to do that. I've tried it without the + as well.

Dammit dammit dammit.

Thanks for the tips though guys.

MatrixCPA
05-22-2002, 09:14 PM
Did you set the paths in the aestats.cfg correctly? Remember that is uses the 'nix path style instead of windows'.

echochargen
05-23-2002, 01:12 PM
Don't know if this will help, but to get the exact short 8.3 style file name you can use the "dir /x" command in a directory.

disdainmsh
05-23-2002, 08:25 PM
I got it working. I created a shortcut to the aestats.exe in x:/aestats folder. In the shortcut I then told it to start the program in x:/program files/blah blah blah. That works perfectly, although the .html output ends up in the base directory, but I can work around that far easier.