PDA

View Full Version : Virtual Memory


Luke129
05-22-2002, 04:24 PM
I have Xp

At the moment I have 256mb virtual memory. If i allocate 81 gig will it be better performance wise?

teleguy
05-22-2002, 07:04 PM
Did you really mean 81 gigabyte !? I don't think it will make a difference if you use 1 gigabyte or 81 . I doubt that there exists any program/game that needs so much virtual memory. Your PC could even become slower because Windows has to manage such a big swapfile. I think 512 MB would be ok.

Luke129
05-22-2002, 07:10 PM
oops, i meant 1 gig or 1024 meg.

So would it be an improvement of 256 meg?

teleguy
05-23-2002, 09:55 AM
Make a test . Run sysmonitor in the background while playing JK2 . If the "used swapfile" ( or whatever; don't know how this is called in your Windows, I have the german version) chart is not displayed you have to add it before the test. You should also reduce the refresh in the sysmon options. After playing the game , check how much virtual memory was used. If the swapfile was "full" it makes sense to increase it, if it was barely used it doesn't.