PDA

View Full Version : this uses the q3 engine right?


Artic Blade
05-31-2002, 11:24 PM
if jk2 does use the q3 engine, and it is possible to import/convert models from q3 to jk2....

could you do this with animations? what im thinking is put the vdance or pelvic thrust in. ive always wanted to express my joy at defeating an enemy in a saber duel.

and so that i wont have to clog the forum with unneeded threads... would anyone be interested in doing a soul reaver model? cuz that soul reaver dude looks real bad @$$ and he uses a soulsaber. but anyway, just a thought

chiao

P.S. if you see tags, it means those words are suppposed to be italics

Madjai
05-31-2002, 11:29 PM
its based on the q3 engine, but has been modified heavily. For instance JO uses the ghoul system for models.

trying to convert a model is possible (i think) but it would take so much work that its easier to just start from scratch, as im sure everyone here has.

Epimetheus
06-01-2002, 12:05 AM
I believe translating one of their models is illegal. You're violating copyrighted material.

jibe
06-01-2002, 01:19 AM
I think he's talking about player-made models, not the ones that come with the game.

Madjai
06-01-2002, 01:42 AM
then you _should_ get permission from whoever made it.

Cmdr. Antilles
06-01-2002, 01:43 AM
Of course, but he wanted to know ahead of time if it was possible or not.

Artic Blade
06-01-2002, 02:33 AM
its not really the models im interested in. even tho some of the models might be pretty cool... its the animations. in q3 you can hit a key and you go into a victory dance, or one of the alltime favorites, *bum bum buummm!* the pelvic thrust!

is it possible to extract these groovin moves to jedi knight?

P.S. i still the the soul reaver guy is a real bad @$$ and should be brought into the game.

Lime-Light
06-01-2002, 03:04 AM
I think you would need Softimage to just redo the animations for the taunt. That would be a lot of work. You cant import q3 animation bc they use a different skeleton.

oddjob: A-Team
06-01-2002, 01:25 PM
Q3 is vertex based animation. There are no skeletons, so taking the animtions from the Q3 models is impossible. They did release most, if not all, the animations in 3DS Max format, but as was said above, you can only export animations to JKII with Softimage(why the hell did they choose THAT format for ****'s sake?) so you are pretty much SOL unless Raven decides to release a plug in for max that allows animation exporting.