PDA

View Full Version : MakeaMod.txt Broken down to be understandable by the avg person


Vesentac
06-01-2002, 05:34 AM
JK2 Game Source. Copyright (C) 2001-2002 Raven Softare, Lucas Arts

The Game Source is broken out into 3 areas.

game - governs the game, runs on the server side.
cgame - governs the client side of the game, runs on the client side.
ui - handles the ui on the client side.


If you havent done this so far, extract JK2editingtools to
Your JK2path\GameData (IE, mine is H:\JK2\GameData)


Making a quick mod is very straightforward. This document assumes Microsoft Visual C++ v6.xx. It covers making a slight mod to the game source, recompiling for debugging and rebuilding the VMs for distribution.


Slow Rockets - TestMod
----------------------
1. Open up the jk2mp-SDK.dsw in Microsoft Visual C++.
2. Set the "game" project as the active project.
3. Open the "g_local.h" file and change the GAMEVERSION define from "basejk" to "TestMod"
4. Save "g_local.h"
5. Open the "g_weapon.c" file.
6. Go to line 85 and change the 900 to 300. The old line reads:

#define ROCKET_VELOCITY 900

The new line should read

#define ROCKET_VELOCITY 300

7. Save "g_weapon.c"
8. Perform a Build All command and it should build a DLL for the game.


Everyone should be fine at this point....


At this point you have two options. You can run the debugger, choosing 'jk2MP.exe' as the executable host which will load your DLL for debugging or you can build the VMs for distribution. When you release mods, you must build new VMs and put them in a pk3 file.

Building the VMs requires the files contained in the 'bin' path are available for execution ( lcc.exe and q3asm.exe )
(The batch files included will reference them indirectly.)




Ok at this point you need to path your bin folder so in dos game.bat will be able to call those programs and use them.
In Win2k/Xp, go to My computer properties=>Advanced==>Enviroment Vars.
Either modify current user/universal PATH variable.
Add a semicolon at the end and add the absolute path of the bin dir.

For Win9x, the path is set in the config.sys. Add the semicolon and etc to it as well.


To build the sample vm for the slow rocket test, do the following:

1. Open a DOS window.
2. Go to your mods game directory and run the 'game.bat' file.


Open Dos, go to the JK2 directory. Go into Gamedata\code\game.
Run game.bat.


This ultimately produces a 'jk2mpgame.qvm' in the \base\vm\ path.

5. Make a "TestMod" path under your JK2 directory. This will be a sibling to 'base'
6. Move 'jk2mpgame.qvm' to "\YourJK2Path\TestMod\vm\"
7. Run JK2MP with the following command line "jk2mp +set fs_game TestMod"
8. "TestMod" should be the referenced game and you should be able to catch up with and outrun your rockets.


now... if you look at your JK2dir\gamedata folder, you'll see a TestMod folder with two files in there. Make a VM folder there. copy the 'jk2mpgame.qvm' file you made there. Then make a shortcut of jk2mp to your desktop. Right click it and go to properties. Add "+set fs_game TestMod" after the target path.


Each of the areas contain a batch file "game.bat", "cgame.bat", and "ui.bat" which will build the appropriate vm files.

-----------------------------------------------
Using Visual Studio to Build and Debug your Mod

1. Create a directory to hold your Mod in the STEF directory
\YourJK2Path\TestMod\
2. In VC, open Project->Settings
3. On the Debug tab Category General:
-set the "Executable for debug session" to your jk2MP.exe
-Set the "Program arguments" to: +set fs_cdpath yourfolderforjk2 +set r_fullscreen 0 +set viewlog 1 +set fs_game TestMod
(note, if you don't have the "set fs_game TestMod", you will need to create
a TestMod.pk3 file for the mod to show up in the menu - see below)
4. On the link tab, change path of the "Output file name" to your TestMod directory

Do this for each of projects you are making modifications to (cgame, game, ui)

-------------------------------------------------
Making my Mod show up on the Mod list in the game

You need to have a TestMod.pk3 file in your mod directory
before it will show up on the in-game menu. Create a "description.txt"
file with some information about your game mod. Use WinZIP to create
the TestMod.pk3 file. You can now put the .dll files in this directory,
or create a "vm" directory and place the .qvm files in the vm directory.


Yeah yeah.. easy stuff.. np

MadScientist
06-01-2002, 09:01 PM
I don't seem to be able to get game.bat to run. I think I do have edited path correctly (it's going to the directory with lcc.exe and q3asm.exe). however when I run game.bat it goes "Invalid switch - /q", makes the vm dir (in the /code/game dir) then changes to it and tries to do the huge "set cc" line but gives "invalid syntax" finally it does "../g_main.c" but that's "bad command or file name" and it quits out. Is this just I don't have the path right or is it somthing else?

Vesentac
06-01-2002, 09:37 PM
"Invalid switch - /q",

This is a plain dos command..

How did you set your path?

MadScientist
06-01-2002, 09:47 PM
It's part of the bat file...

The line is "del /q vm"


I'm running windows 98 so I had to edit the autoexec.bat file. - to set the path

Vesentac
06-02-2002, 03:28 AM
most likely you incorrectly modified the path,

del is a windows command of course, usually it doesnt need to be pathed but the dos commands are usually path in this line

C:\windows:c:\windows\command

you get the point.

douanier007
06-02-2002, 01:26 PM
I have this problem 2 ... does anybody know the answer ?

InfErnO
06-02-2002, 07:01 PM
Umm, I'm pretty lazy, I just copied the binaries into an existing path, if you don't know which folder has a path, just enter PATH in the console. Had no probs. with it. That's pretty easy and doesn't cause headache. :)

WD_Rage
06-02-2002, 07:46 PM
I haven't had to do anything to my path.........

normal
06-02-2002, 08:16 PM
Can someone who uses Windows 98 do this:

del /?

Then paste it's output here?

PurplWulf
06-02-2002, 10:29 PM
ok I'm new to this modding stuff, never tried it before

I built my dll and have that ready

I need to run the game.bat file but I'm getting errors, and from what I've seen in this post I need to path it.

I'm using Win98, and the path to my bin folder is as follows:
E:\StarWars JK II Outcast\GameData\bin

what file do I need to add that to? and exactly what would the entire text for that path need to look like for it to work?

any help would be appreciated.

the purple one

Phillio
06-03-2002, 12:38 PM
If you haven't checked at www.jediknightii.net , do so, they have an update on the batch files for win98!

HaPpY gAmInG!