PDA

View Full Version : Quel-Drin Fal's 2nd Lightsaber Released!


DarthCobra
06-03-2002, 05:51 AM
Some in-game shots for you all.

http://www.artloco.com/cobra/shot001.jpg

http://www.artloco.com/cobra/shot002.jpg

http://www.artloco.com/cobra/shot003.jpg

http://www.artloco.com/cobra/shot004.jpg

http://www.artloco.com/cobra/quel-drinfals2ndlightsaber.rar

I found a place to host this for a bit since the file section is down. This link will only be good for about 24hours then it will be gone. If anyone wants to post it somewhere else.. Feel free.. Hope people like this as much as I do. As soon as I saw it on the webpage i knew I had to have it. Begged freinds for help makin it big thanks to MADBONO who literally did most if not all of it. Ill have to take the credit for gettin it in the game. You'll note how BOTH HANDS fit on the saber. This was kinda a difficult task as the model needed to be a little bigger because of the enclosed knucklegaurd.

Lucko Mabri
06-03-2002, 06:07 AM
The Rar File Is Corrupted.

DarthCobra
06-03-2002, 06:14 AM
Actually its rar'd with new winrar. Its not backwards compatible.

crazy_elmo
06-03-2002, 06:43 AM
Good Work, looks great.

Keep up the good work, we need more things like this.

Thanx

Lucko Mabri
06-03-2002, 06:44 AM
I D/led Winrar And It Worked! The Saber Is Amazing! Keep Up The Good Work!

Infest
06-03-2002, 07:02 AM
what exactly do you do to get that saber into the game again?


:vadar: :vadar: :vadar: :vadar: :vadar:

Destroyder121
06-03-2002, 07:23 AM
you put the queldrinsaber.pk3 to base directory in your jk2folder gamedata& this is wonderful work...good one

:D

Infest
06-03-2002, 07:39 AM
i already have one for the Vader Saber in there, do i have to delete it to get this one to work?

King Jezuz Pie
06-03-2002, 09:30 AM
Yep, to use this one properly it would be best to delete the vader saber.

Garik Loran
06-03-2002, 10:56 AM
DarthCobra, would you be interested in new HUD images for your saber? I could make them, if you like.

DarthCobra
06-03-2002, 11:44 AM
I was just thinking about that.. That would be nice.. nice would be also to know how :)

Garik Loran
06-03-2002, 02:36 PM
Ok, I've finished the HUD images.
http://home.t-online.de/home/0236859584/SWJK2/queldrinsaber.jpg

Creating them is not really hard. You must only edit the tga files you want to be changed in the ...\gfx\hud\ folder with Photoshop or something. Paint what you like and then add an alphachannel by selecting the parts you want to be shown ingame. At the edge the alpha channel should be darker, the middle of the object should be white.
Just look at mine for an example.

PsykoSith
06-04-2002, 02:01 AM
How did you get your skin to show up in 3rd person??? when i load my model (the one i made) the skin is black and white.

any ideas?

very nice work on this saber by the way!

"pfffffff kshhhh impressive, very impressive!"

:guard:

snakeeyesa27
06-04-2002, 06:46 PM
Garik Loran, i am interested in hud images for my saber ( i don't have .tga compatability ) check Tutorial: Saber Modelling for Poor Noobs to see pictures. If you don't want to do this, i understand, since i won't be releasing my saber model.

Garik Loran
06-04-2002, 08:29 PM
Sure, I can make them. I have no problem that it will never be released, even half the things I painted were for people who just wanted their own private little thing.
I saw the images of your saber, but they can't be used for creating good quality images. So it's your choice. Make some big screenshots from MD3View or send me the saber so I can make it myself (which is better, because I can set the angle right)
My e-mail is terrence20@web.de
BTW, nice tutorial.

DarthCobra
06-04-2002, 09:10 PM
Garik Loran i sent you an email requesting that hud image. As to gettin the skin to show on your saber. Because there is not .skin file for your sabers, you'll have to treat it like a static map object. Im pretty new to 3dsmax but ill try to explain. Assuming you already have your model uvmapped and stuff. In 3dsmax press the "M" key, that will bring up your material editor goto the map dialog goto the diffuse opion click on none, in the next dialog select bitmap from the tree on the right, and select your skinmap image. Im not sure if this is needed, but i did it so i could view the skin on my model while in 3dsmax. But back into uvw unwrap-->edit on the right theres a dropdown menu and in there you should see a pick texture option pick your texture press the show map checkers box icon, then update map. Again I'm a real newbie so i dont know if all this is needed but its what ive been doing and it seems to work fine. Good Luck.

remark 666
06-05-2002, 01:31 AM
nice...... what's your next project ? it'd be nice to see some made up/custom light sabers ;)

DarthCobra
06-05-2002, 01:54 AM
Actually im working on a grapple hook and an ascention gun right now. Though im not having much luck on the codeing end.

Garik Loran thanks a bunch for the hud pics there perfect. Im not gonna repost the saber just cause i dont wanna. So if someone else wants to repost it with the hud images. As long as you use the same .txt file i wouldnt care.

snakeeyesa27
06-05-2002, 09:12 PM
Props to Garik Loran. He sent me hud images for my saber. Outstanding! Thanks a bunch. If there's anything i can ever help you with, don't hesitate.:D

Garik Loran
06-06-2002, 08:41 AM
Thx.
I am receiving more e-mails than I thought from people, who want Quel-Drin Fal's 2nd Lightsaber with the HUD, so I am posting this link here (http://home.t-online.de/home/0236859584/SWJK2/saberqueldrin.zip) where you can get it.

DarthCobra
06-13-2002, 12:27 PM
BUMP

Since the links are still good. Maybe someone wants to post the one with the custome hud images to the file section.