PDA

View Full Version : Saber Drop


Kreuzader
06-04-2002, 03:52 AM
I thought I recalled hearing that Raven would enable saber loss (i.e., when you toss the saber in single player and it's deflected, it can get knocked to the ground forcing you to retrieve it) but it doesn't appear on in 1.03 by default... is there a cvar to enable this that's shown up in the SDK?

Thanks!

normal
06-04-2002, 04:31 AM
Not known.

NyghtWalker
06-04-2002, 04:40 AM
Well after grep'ing (search for those not familiar with the all powerfull grep command in *nix) all of the source code files for key words such as "drop" "saberdrop" "saber_drop" "*saber*drop*" and a few others I can find no instances pertaining to the actual dropping of your saber. However I found one case of dropping a jet pack...go figure.

Kreuzader
06-04-2002, 01:42 PM
Ok, thanks!

I guess I'll bug Chang somehow about it :)

Xzzy
06-04-2002, 03:04 PM
from what I've gathered sabers can't be dropped in MP due to the way they're handled.

There's some point in the code where they comment that there is only one real saber in an mp game, and it's attached to the worldspawn somehow.

Furthermore the client apparently knows nothing about the saber, the server maintains an entity that represents the weapon position that follows your character's animation.

in other words, it's probably possible, but to enable sabers to be dropped it seems like it will need a heavy recoding effort.

I have a feeling they did it the way it is to conserve bandwidth, even though it introduces some odd limitations.

Xzzy
06-04-2002, 03:06 PM
oops my bad, found the comment:

> //never spawn a dead saber in JM, because the
> only saber on the level is really a world object

So it's not on the world spawn, but it's some kind of global one of a kind thing.

This comment appears in w_saber.c in the MakeDeadSaber function.

Kreuzader
06-04-2002, 04:14 PM
Ok, that sucks, but thanks for finding that out for me :D

Saber toss is kind of an overpowered tactic (from a mimic-the-movies perspective) right now so I was hoping that the SP counter to it could be enabled easily in MP... I guess that's a mod project now :)

Again, thanks!

furrycat
06-04-2002, 09:58 PM
The worldspawn stuff is for Jedi Master only because there can only be one sabre in the level. It should be possible to do what you're suggesting. I'll check it out at some stage (ie not today, too busy!)

Kreuzader
06-04-2002, 10:19 PM
Cool, and thank you!

-Crus

Commodus
06-05-2002, 07:24 AM
I do recall that if you throw the saber and press 1 it will turn off and fall on the floor... so you might want to look for things to do with turning the saber on and off....

Darkhold X
06-05-2002, 01:12 PM
Well if what that line says is concrete, you also wouldnt be able to have your own saber hilt I think.:(

furrycat
06-05-2002, 01:32 PM
I've looked at having configurable hilts (I used the "sabermodel" cvar in testing) and I've come to the conclusion that you can't ... at least not without some major work.

The problem is that when you activate your sabre, the server registers you as having the WP_SABER weapon. The model for that weapon is the default saber_w.glm Ghoul2 model. What you can't do is say "I've got a sabre with such-and-such a Ghoul2." You either have The Sabre or you have Another Weapon.

The workaround I can see for this would be to make the hardcoded bg_itemlist[] array (which lists all the items and weapons in the game) into a dynamic array. It could be initialised at startup with the default weapons. Then, when a player said he wanted to use a sabre with a different hilt, the server would have to create (and tell all the clients to create) a new entry in the weapons array. This new entry would be exactly the same as WP_SABER only it would have a different Ghoul2 filename.

The difficulty then comes in synchronising all this stuff. We'd be creating and destroying array elements all over the place. Not a fun project.

Haras_Media
06-05-2002, 06:58 PM
What about checking the code when the owner of a tossed saber is killed. I know I have 'heard' the saber fall to the ground, disabled. I have seen it roll around, and then be 'absorbed' into the ground in due time. Or is this one of the animations?

delquar
06-09-2002, 05:15 AM
here is a nifty, though maybe hard idea for loss of sabers, if you pick up someone elses, you have there sabercolor. i haven't looked at the source, so i dunno how hard it would be. just an idea

striderx2048
06-11-2002, 11:16 PM
he just want saber throw to work the same way as SP
i.e. if something happened, the saber instead of returning automatically, would fall to the ground. then the player would have to right click again to call the saber back

CademiaX
06-12-2002, 01:42 AM
Playing against bots i have lost and retrieved my saber several times... I dont know about you guys but I think it has something to do with the your Jedi level, check it out im to busy to play anymore......