PDA

View Full Version : A little help


DarthDarth
06-04-2002, 05:35 PM
I got gmax, but i have a problem, you see i want to use the Jedi Trainer skin as a base, and i need soem tutorials.

I can;t get the Jedi trainer to load into gmax =(

And as luck would have it I can;t find ne tutorials for making like game skins...

If anyone could plz help me with loading skins into gmax, and some tutorials it would really help

Thanks,
DarthDarth :lightning

Lord -=[FBF]=-
06-04-2002, 05:44 PM
if u mean a skin (using the Jedi Trainer model) you dont have o load it into gmax, just redraw the skin .jpg files. however, if you mean making a whole new model, the only way to import the Jedi Trainer into gmax is if u can get him to a .md3, and it would probably be easier just to make a new one, as the model is imported as a bunch of merged meshes, so u cant really change the model like that. we really need a .xsi importer for gmax, because the best way to model is to import root.xsi and build your model around it, but the only available one only works for 3dsmax. this is a total bitch, but the only thing u can do is email Raven and ask for a set of tools (plugins, whatever) designed for use with gmax to be released, or else save up for 3dsmax.

Windu
06-04-2002, 05:49 PM
I have 3ds max, but I can't import a single thing. I don't know if I'm missing a plugin or what. Where can I get a ".xsi importer" from????

Lord -=[FBF]=-
06-04-2002, 05:53 PM
theres a file called XSIImporter.dli (that extension might be a little out) under MAX in the Tools folder created under GameData when you install the official tools pack from Raven (try the files section of jkii.net if u dont have it). stick this in the 3dsmax folder under Plugins, and restart the program.
incidentally, how much is 3dsmax retailing for atm? at one point it was about 3 grand, has it dropped yet?

DarthDarth
06-04-2002, 06:15 PM
thanks now that i installed the importer what file do i import to edit the mess?

I'm such a new ^_^0

Thanks,
DarthDarth :lightning

Lord -=[FBF]=-
06-04-2002, 06:32 PM
u need root.xsi, which will be under gamedata/base/models/player/kyle/root.xsi, and also under different folders at base/models/???. im not sure where to go once u've made the model tho, so try spacermonkey's tutorial, which comes with v2 of the official tools.

DarthDarth
06-04-2002, 06:56 PM
It still won't let me open the root.xsi do i change the file type?

Hum, I don't know what to do, and the guide u said was in the tools, its not there on top of that the model guide that coems with it won't open. It makes some wordpad erors or something...

Peace,
DarthDarth :lightning

DarthDarth
06-04-2002, 07:10 PM
El Bumpo

Lord -=[FBF]=-
06-04-2002, 07:28 PM
dont goto Open in the File menu, instead use Import. sorry, i should have mentioned this.

DarthDarth
06-04-2002, 07:39 PM
It works thanks man i would hug u but well you know, if any one has a coppy of space moneys tutorial can u send me it over AIM as of now I have no clue what im doing other than opening the model...

My AIM is oracleoftheflame

Thanks,
DarthDarth :lightning

It Was So Evil They Could Only Call It Darth Darth!

Windu
06-04-2002, 09:58 PM
What do I do with the "root.xsi" file??? I have 3ds max, and I'm not sure where to put it. Plugins????

DarthDarth
06-04-2002, 10:03 PM
Leave it where it is!

You need the plug in thing, I can send it to you over AIM

MY AIM is OracleOfTheFlame just ask me for it

Windu
06-05-2002, 03:46 AM
Where can I get the .md3 or .glm plugins for 3ds max 4.2???