PDA

View Full Version : disruptor beam

JK Legacy
06-05-2002, 03:10 PM
how could I change the appearance of the beam of the disruptor primary fire? I've tried looking for it myself but i'm not very experienced with this, and have had no look :/

i'm just looking to change the colour of the beam, width of the beam, time it stays on screen etc.

thx

JK Legacy
06-08-2002, 09:10 AM
anyone?

I understand that everyone is still getting used to jk2 coding.. but if anyone has any vague ideas or clues they could give me, it'd be appreciated.

Subject452
06-08-2002, 09:33 AM
just change the color of the picture associated with the weapon

Wiebbe
06-08-2002, 10:19 AM
just change the color of the picture associated with the weapon

Not sure if that will work though, The disruptor just like the rail gun in Quake3, isnt a picture, but a code, (or mathemathic function or something) ( this is what i think it is. no sure) so i guess it is hardcoded.
no idea where though.

check out some of the railgun tutorials, they might give ya an idea.

Subject452
06-08-2002, 10:29 AM
can be, i havent looked at the code :)

JK Legacy
06-08-2002, 10:40 AM
I think i've found the bit of code that draws the line, but I got little experience with C :(

{
syscall( CG_FX_ADDLINE, start, end, PASSFLOAT(size1), PASSFLOAT(size2), PASSFLOAT(sizeParm),
PASSFLOAT(alpha1), PASSFLOAT(alpha2), PASSFLOAT(alphaParm),
sRGB, eRGB, PASSFLOAT(rgbParm),
killTime, shader, flags);
}

thats the thingy that it calls to draw the line, and the current values its passin to it is

trap_FX_AddLine( start, end, 0.1f, 6.0f, 0.0f,
1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f,
WHITE, WHITE, 0.0f,
150, trap_R_RegisterShader( "gfx/effects/redLine" ),
FX_SIZE_LINEAR | FX_ALPHA_LINEAR );

i think its a combination of code and the redLine image, i'll have to play around with it, too complicated for me though :/

Subject452
06-08-2002, 10:48 AM