PDA

View Full Version : 3ds Max


m.d.c skamonkey
06-07-2002, 10:21 AM
Hey all,

Reading the saber tutorial really helped me making my current saber, but i'm having a problem in that i don't know how to export my mesh as a .GLM

anyone help?

m.d.c:fett:

Madjai
06-07-2002, 10:50 AM
Read this again:

"7. Compiling. Load your saber model and the tags. Select ONE BRUSH of your saber (not the tags), and select ATTACH LIST (under modify, if it's not there, convert everything to EDITABLE MESH). Select every other brush of your lightsaber, not forgetting to omit the tags. This will group them so they are only one brush. Name this brush w_saber.
a. UVwrap it and then Unwrap it (again, check other tutorials) assign your texture to it, so it looks exactly how you want it to ingame, cause that's what it's gonna look like. now select everything (w_saber, tag_parent, and tag_flash), making sure your skin is applied in gmax. Go to export and export selected as .md3. Under SELECTED FRAMES, enter "w_saber tag_parent tag_flash" without quotes, then uncheck the boxes. Name this file saber_w.md3 to save time.
B. BIG FAT EDIT #2: You must create a .skin file that is used in conversion. Simply copy a model_default.skin from a player model, put it in your saber folder, and rename it saber_w.skin. This file must contain only 1 line (unless you have more than one skin) this line is

"w_saber,models/weapons2/saber/saber.jpg" without the quotes.


c. MD3 -> GLM: Now open up MD3VIEW, a program that comes with the jediknight2 tools. Open saber_w.md3 and select View Origin, under View. This will show you your tags, if they are installed correctly. Everything good? BIG FAT EDIT #3: Now, under FILE, choose LOAD SKIN. Load your saber_w.skin. It WILL say cannot find bla bla bla. IGNORE THIS. Now, export as a .glm.
Take this .glm and the 2d image (usually saber.jpg) and pak them up ( a whole other tutorial. if you don't know, ask me ). And if everything went according to plan, Your saber will be ready to slice and dice stormtroopers and other noobs alike! SMALLER, BUT STILL FAT EDIT: Your pak need contain ONLY your saber_w.glm and saber.jpg."

From the saber tutorial ^^

m.d.c skamonkey
06-07-2002, 11:13 AM
unfortunately i'm running 3DS MAX which doesn't have the option to export something as MD3... therein lies the problem. that tutorial is helping but the thing is it's meant for use with GMAX

cheers,

m.d.c:fett:

Madjai
06-07-2002, 02:59 PM
do you not know what plugins are?

http://www.maxplugins.de/r4_files/ExportMD3.zip