View Full Version : Changing Sabers to Swords

06-09-2002, 08:58 AM
has anyone thought of doing this, changing lightsabers to swords, with intense sword fights this could be cool. Proper sounds (metal on metal) too.

06-09-2002, 09:16 AM
hmm, that would be cool, and change the storm troopers into Archers to make a medievil style mod.

06-09-2002, 09:29 AM
well no, i was thinking more a Highlander (the movie) setting.

Benny Duron
06-09-2002, 09:51 AM
i can think of 2 ways:

1: make the 2 glow.jpg's in the sabers folder blank and draw a sword in the line.jpg image.

2: edit the saber handle model the be the sword and make all saber effects blank.

06-09-2002, 10:03 AM
how do i turn saber effects off...

06-09-2002, 11:21 AM
i'd rather have a Blade2 mod, with lots of gore where u can desintegrate your enemies with bullets and stuff, now that would be cool. =)

Benny Duron
06-09-2002, 01:08 PM
if you want to have no saber effects just unzip all files in gfx/effects/sabers/ from the assets1.pk3 and change them for blank ones (.jpg's).
then there will be no saber effects

06-09-2002, 02:40 PM
there's actually a mod out there.. well, sort of that changes sabers to swords and saber sounds to metal clanging, etc.. its available mostly from jk2.net but I think I might have sawa copy floating around jk2files.com... not sure.

06-09-2002, 05:06 PM
well, im doing this using a real model and disabling the saber effects completely via the code

06-10-2002, 07:42 AM
ah so you are going to do this, I was going to try to do this myself...but if you are go ahead. I was just going to change the blade textures to swords and turn effects off....but you sound like your doing a more proffesional job

06-10-2002, 04:21 PM
tried it myself once, but ran into a strange problem.
If you change the saber_line to a sword, the sword looks the same from every angle, like your holding it sideways.
The only way it would work would be to chane the model.

06-10-2002, 06:19 PM
i belive if you model the actual sword intot he handle, then make the saber color pictures pure black, it should still work all you need to do is remove the sound effects and such

06-11-2002, 02:40 AM
yeah ....im really sorry but i only read 1 1/2 of these posts...
but over at massassi.net there is a mod where u can have a katana instead of a purple saber
if u wanna find out how to do it, just zip zip it good , da dadada daadaadadadaa

06-11-2002, 03:52 AM
well, it wont work....as the current code draws the blade from the tip of the model...so if you dont change it, you will have a really LONG saber

06-11-2002, 06:37 AM
I have Blades sword mod that i made (and am working out kinks) it turns the yellow lightsaber into a sword and removes all but the glow on the bottom, i am still working on how to remove that one. but i havent gotten time to put sounds in. and if you choose any othersaber color, the saber blur almost compleetly coveres the blade (slightly darker section) works pretty good, but i cant get the model to take the skin i made for it in game

D@rth M@ul
06-11-2002, 05:03 PM
Now why on earth would you go and do a think like that?

Maybe its a good idea but not my cup of tea if you know what I mean.

Good luck to you though!


Chiss Lord
06-11-2002, 11:05 PM
Actually I tried it (just to see if I could.) Replace the line file with your sword pic, make the glow2, and the two blur files all black. Then go ahead and make a new handle model. I think its sort of pointless to put so much effort into making an SW game non-SW

06-12-2002, 11:18 AM
i made a mod for jk2 that replaces all lightsabers with the katana
works in SP too and its kinda fun :) cant be dled anywhere tho
(gawd i did that SOME time ago....)

06-12-2002, 12:01 PM
removing the glow is EZ, just comment out the all the stuff.