PDA

View Full Version : zip into pk3?


bigDAN456
06-09-2002, 08:19 PM
How do you change a zip file into a pk3 file?

bigDAN456
06-09-2002, 08:58 PM
i NEED to know now!

Tchouky
06-09-2002, 09:06 PM
well you right click on the file and rename the file :

file.zip to
file.pk3

done !

no need of winzip !

just need it if you want to read or create the .zip

bigDAN456
06-09-2002, 09:30 PM
I did that now the file is called models.pk3.zip, how do I fix this?

GidionTheDead
06-09-2002, 09:37 PM
Don't forget that the zip in question must be UNCOMPRESSED, or the game will not read the pk3!

Pedantic
06-09-2002, 09:42 PM
Originally posted by bigDAN456
I did that now the file is called models.pk3.zip, how do I fix this?

You just have to delete the .zip part when renaming it.

bigDAN456
06-12-2002, 10:03 PM
Originally posted by Pedantic


You just have to delete the .zip part when renaming it.

It wont let me, When I click rename it wot let me edit the extenstion.

CapcomDave
06-12-2002, 11:05 PM
same thing is happening to me and I dont know how to fix it

CapcomDave
06-13-2002, 12:33 AM
i got it working, you need to (depending on what OS you are running) disable the hide file extensions for known file types opinion. then you can delete the .zip part! I just merged a whole bunch of mods and made a sweet mod where you play as Vader in SP and fight the rebels. it's cool.

bigDAN456
06-13-2002, 12:49 AM
Originally posted by CapcomDave
i got it working, you need to (depending on what OS you are running) disable the hide file extensions for known file types opinion. then you can delete the .zip part! I just merged a whole bunch of mods and made a sweet mod where you play as Vader in SP and fight the rebels. it's cool.

How do you disable the hide file extensions thingy? I'm using XP.
Where can I download that mod?

Akshara
06-13-2002, 01:29 AM
bigDAN...

It's in the Folder Options section of windows. Honestly dude, if you don't know how to change that you shouldn't be messing around with this kinda stuff anyway.

THERE IS A REALLY EASY WAY TO MAKE PK3 FILES...

Goto this website, and download the program Pakscape...

http://www.effiles.com/file.info?1327

It uses a drag and drop interface, so once you get the all your folders/files you want to put in a PK3 together, you just create a new document in Pakscape, and drag the whole lot of them into the Pakscape window. Then save it as a PK3, with everything automatically setup properly.

No winzip. No file extension mess. Simple.

Go Get It...;)

Pedantic
06-13-2002, 03:47 AM
Or you could just stick with WinZip, which seems a lot easier to me.