PDA

View Full Version : bot skill level, pls help


bus
06-11-2002, 10:41 PM
greetings one and all, i was wondering if some one who knows what theyre talking about could help me here,
i play q3a, and some guy is trying to tell us:

"First of all Padawan bots are not some I CAN WIN q3 bots."

the bot skills in q3 are
I Can Win
Bring It On
Hurt Me Plenty
Hardcore
Nightmare
he is telling us that Padawan bots are equel to q3 Nightmare bots, is this true?

edit: this is what he wrote
Oh yea JK2 padawan bots do not miss with the most powerful weapons. Unless you got my skillz!

Nobodi Kenobi
06-12-2002, 12:16 AM
Bus

I will have to disagree with whomever said that the Padawan bots are Q3 level "Nightmare" bots.

However, you have to realize Q3 and JO are very DIFFERENT games with different game modes (CTF, Duel, FFA, TFFA) and that is what will ultimately determine how good the bots AI level is since each of the various game modes also can be tweaked using Force Powers (on or off).

I think the bots are fairly good to "get your feet wet" with the various maps if you have never played the MP portion of JO before.

However, you will quickly learn that if you are skilled in the least that the bots are predictible and repetitive (use the same path of waypoints) and also run away from you even on Jedi Master Setting and you will quickly progress - in a few days - from Padawan to Jedi Master level since they just become to easy to kill on the lower settings.

Using the computer controlled NPCs - Non Player Characters - From the SP game that you can spawn in MP is more of a challenge and more akin to the kind of fighting you will find when you go online in my opinion.

Does that help?

bus
06-12-2002, 12:59 AM
yes it does, thanks :D

zworqy
06-12-2002, 04:25 PM
The bots in JKII are the worst I've ever seen. Even on Jedi Master level they are no match for me.

This is how the score in a game look like when it's over:
(FFA - NS_STREETS - KILL LIMIT: 20)
Zworqy 20
Desann 8
Tavion 3
Jan -3
Lando -8
JediTrainer -9
Reborn -11
Stormtrooper -13

They just LOVE to commit suicide :D :D :D

As much as I would like to say I'm very good, I'm not. If I dared to set the diffivulty in Q3A to Nightmare, my a$$ would be kicked soooooo hard!

Sutek
06-12-2002, 04:34 PM
How exactly do you spanw the SP NPCs in the MP game? I'd like to play with some of them, but can't do it short of starting an SP game, using devmap or map to jump to an MP map, and spawning them then (though that is fun)

Nobodi Kenobi
06-13-2002, 02:41 AM
Sutek

That is exactly how you do it.

There really is no other way because NPCs are a SP component - Computer controlled AI; not Bot AI - so you have to fool the game into thinking it is still in SP mode even on a MP player map using the devmap command.

Others and myself are currently discussing possible modding projects that would basically be more objective oriented gameplay in the MP component (other than CTF) that uses spawned NPCs that you could run locally on your own computer in MP mode.

For instance, possibly rescuing Luke or somebody from an army of Reborns and the only way to win is either kill all the reborns or escort Luke to the safety zone (like CS).

Things like this haven't been tried yet, but the possiblity of more "open ended" gameplay is there with the MP Source Code now out... At least we think the possiblity is there ;)