PDA

View Full Version : DOTT and Fate Sound Missing...


YTtheMighty
06-14-2002, 06:57 PM
Ok I know this exact post has probably been on this forum 1138 times but... I have win98 and an SBlive Xgamer sound card, I setup DOTT and Fate of Atlantis with the port, and IRQ for the card and I get music and no sound/voice, I got the patch from the Lucas arts site, but it did me no good, is there anyway to get it awerkin agin or am I screwed...


:confused:

MeddlingMonk
06-14-2002, 11:39 PM
You might be screwed. I don't know. It might depend on whether or not you've got SB16 emulation working. You need to have emm386 loading at startup for that to work correctly. But I'm doubtful that really matters.

bgbennyboy
06-16-2002, 07:48 PM
GARGH! I wrote a big long reply to this yesterday and them the server move went and lost it.:mad:

Firstly:
Look in autoexec.bat for the line starting "SET BLASTER="
Autoexec is in the root drive (c:\) and can be opened in notepad or wordpad, or you can view it in msconfig (start>run>msconfig).

The line will be something like this SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1
Now its a while since I used 9x but (I think) this corresponds to:
A220=port 220
I5=Interrupt/irq 5
D1=DMA address

So in that case you'd select port 220 and irq 5 in the setup program (in FoA use a buffer of 64 and in DOTT 50 if you can).

Of course if that line isnt there then you havent got sb16 emulation loaded. This often used to be added by the soundcard itself when you installed it and it might not have been.

So you can try adding the line yourself, the line should read:
SET BLASTER=A<number> I<number> D<number>
So SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1
Gives you a port of 220 an irq of 5 and a dma of 1, these are the most common settings.

If this doesnt work then you may need a dos sound driver that loads before the set blaster line (as you have a creative card this shouldnt be necessary, but you could look on creatives' site just in case).

You can also try restarting in msdos mode, running the setup from there then playing (without running the setup again) in windows (this is especially effective with SamNMax and DOTT but shouldnt affect FoA).

If none of that works then you can try ignoring the setup screen and starting the games with command line parameters. But for that you'll need to reply, telling me what youve done, what happened and your sound card port irq and dma.

Hope that helps.

YTtheMighty
06-17-2002, 05:39 AM
Thanks guys I ll give this a shot , most stuff I already tried, but Ill try that autoexec edit.