PDA

View Full Version : How do I make a reflective surface?


crazylegs1138
06-16-2002, 10:01 AM
I am working on a recreation of the Clone Facilities from AOTC, and I realised even before I began working on it that i didnt know how to make reflective white floors. I think I will be able to make the textures in photoshop, but i am clueless about making the floor reflective. I'm wondering if I could also make a window slightly reflective.

I am also wondering how i could tackle the clone chambers that will be outside one of the tunnels I am making. I thought that maybe I could ask someone to make a single pic of the clone cylinders and I could apply it to a brush just outside the tunnel, or if I should create it all in gtkradient. Any help would be greatly appreciated:D

Grets Sirob
06-16-2002, 10:07 AM
A pic would look stupid, you'd have to go all the way...




:jawa Oo-oo Ootini!

OvRDoZ
06-16-2002, 10:21 AM
I have no idea how they do it in JK2 but a long time ago I made a quake 2 map and just made unbreakable see-through-glass and made an exact copy of the map, just upside down, under it.

but in JK2 I'm sure theres an easier way, and plus it shows model reflections too, it didnt do that in quake2 =P

Tigris
06-16-2002, 07:01 PM
Send me your email and I'll send you over a nice shader-
for an example of it look here:
http://www.durahcell.de/ageofsith/lims01.jpg

Graphicsgod
06-16-2002, 07:57 PM
DAMN I'll take that shader!!

graphicsgod2@hotmail.com


Much better than the one I created when the tools first got released!!

http://www.angelfire.com/amiga/ggodstuff/index.html


Sorry for the por shot, but I just grabbed it out of my level shots file and uploaded it ;).

crazylegs1138
06-16-2002, 10:58 PM
Please send it to crazylegs1138@hotmail.com . I might have to edit the shader to make it go with a white texture, but that shouldn't be a big deal.

Master Shawn
06-17-2002, 12:50 AM
Dude, send me that shader also plz, I need it for Imperial Refueling Station 3.0, ill make the hangar floors reflective and more authentic. shawn21_logic@hotmail.com

-[JO]Masterr Shawn Kenobi :yobi:

mcowart
06-17-2002, 05:33 AM
Could you send me the shader as well?

cutefuzzysquirrel@yahoo.com

I could use it to make reflective marble in my hyrule castle map.

Thanks!

Tigris
06-17-2002, 08:34 AM
Ok, I uploaded it- It really is only a custom version of the normal mirror-texture.

You can get it here:
http://www.durahcell.de/JK2Preview/lims-shaders.zip

Just add limbonik.shader to your shaderlist.txt and there you'll go :)

crazylegs1138
06-17-2002, 09:31 AM
When i try it, it comes up as a white cross, no reflection. Blaster fire is also reflected off it. I probably did it wrong. I pick khar_shian from the texture menu right? Then I apply one of those two textures to the floor. That's what I did but it didn't work.

mcowart
06-17-2002, 10:29 AM
Ok, I uploaded it- It really is only a custom version of the normal mirror-texture.

You can get it here:
http://www.durahcell.de/JK2Preview/lims-shaders.zip

Just add limbonik.shader to your shaderlist.txt and there you'll go

I got it, but in game, it looks nothing like your screenshot. It's shiny, but I get no reflections with it (structural or entity). Do you have to do anything special with it? Lighting. or such?

Adarin
06-17-2002, 11:22 AM
Put a misc_portal_surface entity less then 64(Or was it 68?) units above the reflective surface and it should be reflective. :)

Grets Sirob
06-17-2002, 11:28 AM
It's 64...




:gungan: Mesa stupid!

mcowart
06-17-2002, 11:54 AM
ok, that worked nicely. Thanks!