PDA

View Full Version : Obi Wan's episode 2 saber.


Norin Radd
06-16-2002, 01:37 PM
Was anyone making Obi Wan's saber from Episode 2? There was one released, but it was far too big, and the blade came out of the wrong end. Is anyone else making this model?:D http://store3.yimg.com/I/actionfigurexpress_1689_5823273


I'll provide the photos, if needed.:D

Master Shawn
06-16-2002, 01:39 PM
I might, I am a HUGE fan of Obi-Wan and really liked it when someone made an Obi-Wan saber, might try my luck with this soon cause that one was a wee to thick.

-[JO]Master Shawn Kenobi :yobi:

Rocketman
06-16-2002, 03:17 PM
yeah i'd love to see a remake, the other was just too big and it was held weird in game. if you do make it make sure the textures look good from first person view.

Darth Odisse
06-16-2002, 08:51 PM
Originally posted by Norin Radd
Was anyone making Obi Wan's saber from Episode 2? There was one released, but it was far too big, and the blade came out of the wrong end. Is anyone else making this model?:D http://store3.yimg.com/I/actionfigurexpress_1689_5823273


I'll provide the photos, if needed.:D

The Blade didn't come out of the wrong end though.

Master Shawn
06-17-2002, 01:01 AM
I recently bid and one an AOTC Obi-Wan lightsabre toy, once I recieve it, ill use it an refrence to the model, that will help me a lot.

Norin Radd
06-17-2002, 01:48 AM
That would be awesome Shawn. Keep us posted on your progress.:D

THANKS!!

Darth Odisse
06-17-2002, 01:49 AM
Originally posted by Master Shawn
I recently bid and one an AOTC Obi-Wan lightsabre toy, once I recieve it, ill use it an refrence to the model, that will help me a lot.

Here's a start:

http://www.vengeance-unlimited.org/Jedi%20Outcast/Episode%20II/Jedi/Obi-Wan%20LS.jpg

http://jdpilotlightsaberpics.homestead.com/KenobiEp1saberpics.html

For size Reference:

http://www.vengeance-unlimited.org/Jedi%20Outcast/Episode%20II/Obi-Wan/Obi-Wan%20Kenobi.jpg

http://www.vengeance-unlimited.org/Jedi%20Outcast/Episode%20II/Obi-Wan/ObiCloseEP2.jpg

http://www.vengeance-unlimited.org/Jedi%20Outcast/Episode%20II/Obi-Wan/Oni-Wan%20Kenobi%202.jpg

Norin Radd
06-17-2002, 01:53 AM
Darth Odisse you were right. OOPS! My mistake.:D :(

Master Shawn
06-17-2002, 02:21 AM
Thnx for the refrence pics, ill start on this once im finished with my R2D2 skin for a mapmodel my friends converting.

Master Shawn
06-18-2002, 06:56 AM
Heres a pic from within Gmax of my WIP Obi-Wan Kenobi AOTC Lighsabre Hilt, how does it look, and the really detailed parts(like the grips grooves and so on) will be made into the texture so we dont have a polygon count over 13000 :)http://mr8472.netfirms.com/jk2/obi_wan.jpg
compare that with this :) http://www.vengeance-unlimited.org/Jedi%20Outcast/Episode%20II/Jedi/Obi-Wan%20LS.jpg

Power-Line
06-18-2002, 07:59 AM
Never fear, man who has all modelsis here. DL my pack here and its in there
Link to my hilt pack (http://www.jediknightii.net/files/index.php?link=file&id=517) :c3po:

Master Shawn
06-18-2002, 08:07 AM
Im still going to finish the model, I want to see how good I can make it, mabey I can get it even better than yours :p

P.S. - Show a little respect, dont come in here and brag about your hilt pack in front of my face.

Norin Radd
06-18-2002, 08:14 AM
By all means Shawn, finish it. :D

I look forward to your completed model. Couldn't hurt to have two in the community:p . Looking great so far. Keep up the good work. After all, you want to do honor to your uncle's name.:D

Norin Radd
06-18-2002, 08:56 AM
Power-Line, actually, the Obi-Wan Epsiode 2 saber in your pack, is the one I mention in the opening post. Thanks, though.:D

Rocketman
06-18-2002, 09:16 AM
shawn, one thing. there seems to be this thing where when you activate custom sabers your hands slide way down the hilt, making it look like your gripping it way too far down, so maybe if you have his default unactivated grip of the saber in his hand higher on the saber it will be held right when activated.

has anyone else noticed this?

UseTheForce
06-18-2002, 09:31 AM
Yeah, I have. It's rather annoying to see him holding it with the top hand in the middle, leaving a bit of the saber unheld, and have half of his bottom hand holding nothing, as he is out of handle.

Master Shawn
06-18-2002, 09:32 AM
I've noticed it, ill put the tag at diff levels and see which works best. just FYI I am going to start the Power Cell Reserve Cap as soon as im done eating supper, I should have a pretty well completed model by tonight, ill post multiple views so you can see it all the way around :) I also need some skinner and UVW Mapping volunteers because I know form experience that I cant do it at all, any and all help will be GREATLY appreciated.

Master Shawn
06-18-2002, 11:11 AM
The AOTC Obi-Wan Kenobi Lightsabre :D http://mr8472.netfirms.com/jk2/finis.jpg
plz post comments below, and, if your interested, plz leave contact info if you want to be the skinner or UVWMapper for this model(plz someone do this, Im an absolute idiot on this, and yes, I've tried, and failed about 3 times now)

Mandalorian iTi
06-18-2002, 11:32 AM
DO YOU GUYS WANT SOME REAL HELP? Just go to www.jediknightii.net and under sabers in the file section find the Obi Wan Padewan saber and download it, his EP1 saber is same as EP2! so the saber is already made i have it myself and like it a lot:saberb:

Norin Radd
06-18-2002, 11:50 AM
Originally posted by Rocketman
shawn, one thing. there seems to be this thing where when you activate custom sabers your hands slide way down the hilt, making it look like your gripping it way too far down, so maybe if you have his default unactivated grip of the saber in his hand higher on the saber it will be held right when activated.

has anyone else noticed this?


I was wondering about that, Rocketman, thanks for confirming it. When I use Anakin's saber, I noticed that, but I assumed it was because Anakin's saber, as we all know, was short, compared to other sabers. Thanks for clearing that up.:D

Master Shawn
06-18-2002, 11:58 AM
Ep I and Ep II Obi-Wan hilts are NOT the same. And, for reasons stated above, we dont like that other one because of its dimensions.

Norin Radd
06-18-2002, 12:01 PM
Originally posted by Master Shawn
The AOTC Obi-Wan Kenobi Lightsabre :D http://mr8472.netfirms.com/jk2/finis.jpg
plz post comments below, and, if your interested, plz leave contact info if you want to be the skinner or UVWMapper for this model(plz someone do this, Im an absolute idiot on this, and yes, I've tried, and failed about 3 times now)

That looks sensational. Great! Wish I knew how to skin to expedite the release, but alas, I do not.:(

mtrixman
06-18-2002, 12:37 PM
thank god your remaking it. i loved the old saber but its size totally ruined it. great job man keep it up!

1mcgrady1
06-18-2002, 10:10 PM
Master Shawn Kenobi, nice to see you here.

Ur model is fantastic, please hurry and finish it, cos i can't stand the lightsaber of your cousin's being sooo THICK! Its a bit disgusting, though.

Anyway, as i've told u b4, ur really gd at modelling, hope u'll find a skinner soon, ( i would like to be, but i don't noe how: can't even import kyle's saber into gmax.

After finishing the model, please send it toone of the greatest fans of obi-wan kenobi like u (me,please) at mcgrady1@lycosasia.com (mcgray1@lycosasia.com)

Thanks alot, pal. :gben:

Master Shawn
06-19-2002, 01:42 AM
Sure, ill send it, stil need some help with the UVWMapping and all, I can UVWMap it myself, but after that I cant ever seem to be able to pull the shapes apart from the map to make the skin template, if someone could do that for me that i'd be pretty well set for the skin, I can attempt it using actual pics of the saber complements of Darth Odisse. Anyone thats interested in pulling apart the shapes in the map (someone with a good ammount of experience) PLZZZZ reply, I cant finish the model without this help.

Darth Odisse
06-19-2002, 03:06 AM
Originally posted by Master Shawn
Sure, ill send it, stil need some help with the UVWMapping and all, I can UVWMap it myself, but after that I cant ever seem to be able to pull the shapes apart from the map to make the skin template, if someone could do that for me that i'd be pretty well set for the skin, I can attempt it using actual pics of the saber complements of Darth Odisse. Anyone thats interested in pulling apart the shapes in the map (someone with a good ammount of experience) PLZZZZ reply, I cant finish the model without this help.

The problem with that though is that Obi-Wan's Episode II Lightsaber is chrome plated which gives it a very different look in terms of colour and light reflection, it's not much of a difference though other than it looking more silver like in colour.


Episdoe I:

http://www.vengeance-unlimited.org/Jedi%20Outcast/Obi-Wan%20Lightsaber.jpg

Episode II:

http://www.vengeance-unlimited.org/Jedi%20Outcast/Episode%20II/Lightsabers/Obi-AOTC.jpg

http://www.vengeance-unlimited.org/Jedi%20Outcast/Episode%20II/Obi-Wan/Oni-Wan%20Kenobi%202.jpg

Lucko Mabri
06-19-2002, 03:08 AM
I think this saber is very kewl! :D

-Lucko Mabri

Master Shawn
06-19-2002, 06:18 AM
Is any experienced UVWMapper or Skinner gonna do this for me or am I gonna have to dump the project cause I cant do the stuff, trust me, ive tried several times... :( :(

Norin Radd
06-19-2002, 06:53 AM
Shawn, I posted a thread asking for a skinner, so far I've gotten lots of hits, but no replies. I placed a link directly to this thread. I was hoping someone would have contacted you by now. Do not abandon the project just yet.:D

mtrixman
06-19-2002, 06:54 AM
Originally posted by Master Shawn
Is any experienced UVWMapper or Skinner gonna do this for me or am I gonna have to dump the project cause I cant do the stuff, trust me, ive tried several times... :( :(

dump the project? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO:explode:

Master Shawn
06-19-2002, 07:36 AM
On second thought I wont abandon this project, I like it way too much, its my best model so far :D Hope someone helps me out here, I'm a mapper and a modeller, but I just cant do the skinning :p

Primrodo
06-19-2002, 08:07 AM
Um I'd just like to say I think the top emitter spots are too small.

www.lightsaberworld.com has THE best Obi-Wan specs.

Its 11.25" in length...and well look at teh one refernce picture about the top.

Excellent model though.

now if you can get tme models to hold it right...:)

http://www.lightsaberworld.com/emitter.htm

Master Shawn
06-19-2002, 08:38 AM
I hope you like them now, cause they are as big as I can make em without having to redo the emitter....
http://mr8472.netfirms.com/jk2/finis1.jpg

Norin Radd
06-19-2002, 08:42 AM
Now all we need is a skinner. Weird. Any other time, skinners would be asking for the model. It's almost like people are avoiding the project. They can't be satisfied by the other model, can they?:D

Rocketman
06-19-2002, 09:08 AM
you should contact illogic, the guy who skinned the first episode 2 obi saber. the model for it isnt' as good but he did a good skin.

Norin Radd
06-19-2002, 09:36 AM
Originally posted by Rocketman
you should contact illogic, the guy who skinned the first episode 2 obi saber. the model for it isnt' as good but he did a good skin.

You know his email?:D

1mcgrady1
06-19-2002, 10:36 AM
Master Shawn Kenobi, please do not give up on the project if not we'll be stuck with the thick saber hilt.

I'll try to do my part by posting threads to find a skinner 4 u.

The model of ur hilt is good, and don't waste it. Be patient, i'll try my best and hope Norin Radd and me will find a skinner for u a.s.a.p.

May the force be with you... ...:gben:

1mcgrady1
06-19-2002, 11:13 AM
i've also posted replies in threads regarding lightsabers. Hope someone replies to this thread soon... ...

Master Shawn
06-19-2002, 11:20 AM
I just email Illogic, I hope he decides to help, he would be good for the job.

AoD-Venom
06-19-2002, 01:32 PM
Alright, Alright,
Send me the model I'll see what I can do.
E-mail Addy----> wannabejedi@attbi.com

Master Shawn
06-19-2002, 01:38 PM
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D :D :D :D :D :D

1mcgrady1
06-19-2002, 01:51 PM
Hope you'll finish skinning it soon

All the best to you, AoD Venom.

:racer: :aobi:

Graphicsgod
06-19-2002, 02:19 PM
Ok, I'm guessing your using Milkshape (I use and prefer 3DMAx, but not everyone has 3000 to waste ;) ), and you need to know how to UVMap your model so a SKINNER can skin it. No problem, got some tuts. to help you out.


Explains how to UVMap in MkSp.

http://xu1productions.com/3dstudio/tuts/zuvm.html


For more info.

http://xu1productions.com/3dstudio/tutorials.html


Now once you have successfully got it uvmaped and made into a md3 model, people will be able to skin your new model. Hell, once you have it UVMap'ed send me the files, and I'll give it a shot.



Took me a while to find this page, since Polycount seems to be down (including all of www.planet...com). For more resources for anyone else new to modeling and skinning,.. go here.


http://www.quake3world.com/ubb/Forum11/HTML/001100.html?

Enjoy!

Norin Radd
06-19-2002, 05:38 PM
Godspeed AoD-Venom, you are the man.:D

Master Shawn
06-19-2002, 08:40 PM
Actually im using Gmax, I already know how to UVWMap, its just I always screw up when trying to pull the map apart :(

Master Shawn
06-21-2002, 01:45 AM
Second page, NEVER, Bump!*drop kicks post to first page*:D

Rocketman
06-21-2002, 02:59 AM
how is it coming along?

artik88
06-21-2002, 03:01 AM
ditto...


:saberb:

Master Shawn
06-21-2002, 03:24 AM
Apparently hes doing the UVWMap, ahevnt recieved an email since he said he was going to start, im currently looking up pics of the actual saber so I can maybe copy the textures needed off of actual pics.

Rocketman
06-21-2002, 07:01 PM
much bumpage.

Primrodo
06-22-2002, 04:38 AM
Originally posted by Primrodo
Um I'd just like to say I think the top emitter spots are too small.

www.lightsaberworld.com has THE best Obi-Wan specs.

Its 11.25" in length...and well look at teh one refernce picture about the top.

Excellent model though.

now if you can get tme models to hold it right...:)

http://www.lightsaberworld.com/emitter.htm

Well first of all...and take this not as negative, there are only 3 spaces where the emitter shows through, not 4. The top is wrong, I understand you looked at the toy, but the toy is highly inaccurate, as its for children. The only other scruple is teh bottom, you are missing something, take a look at teh reference pictures.

Its a very good attempt, just not accurate.

Master Shawn
06-22-2002, 05:13 AM
I just got the toy, I made this off of pics, and I know about it only having three things, but, someones already UVWMapping it and if I modify it he will have to start all over and I dont want to do that to him... And could you be more specific about me missing something on the bottom...

Primrodo
06-22-2002, 10:30 AM
http://www.lightsaberworld.com/images/new_details.jpg

See the dip?

All I was saying was that it was inaccurate.

Look at this pic and this site to see exactly what I mean.

Master Shawn
06-22-2002, 10:52 AM
I know about that also, its just I would have to redo a lot of stuff to fix it, besides, I can fix it in the skin if I really want to.

SithBrakiss
06-22-2002, 10:55 AM
Shawn,this is probally one of the best saber models ive seen,besides lukes ROTJ saber,which look sorta unique for some reason.
Anyways,i was gonna make my yoda saber....but i decided to stop because KingNacho made a better one,anyways....Great model,and i'd suggest getting someone GREAT at skinning for it...try Arco or someone...they are good with skinning.

May The Force Be with You Dude.

artik88
06-22-2002, 10:56 AM
bump:rolleyes:

Master Shawn
06-23-2002, 02:20 AM
Second page, ooohhhhh hell no!*rips post from second page and pastes it onthe first*

mtrixman
06-24-2002, 06:08 AM
bump

Mandalorian iTi
06-25-2002, 12:57 AM
how close are u guys being to get done? i dont feel like reading everything cuz my eyes hert.....

.........and please some help here:
http://64.246.44.70/~lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=62899

Master Shawn
06-25-2002, 02:02 AM
I emailed him Venom yesterday, he says its really complicated and hes oing his best to get the unwrapping done as quickly as he can.

mtrixman
06-28-2002, 10:50 PM
bump

Master Shawn
06-29-2002, 02:03 AM
Bad news all, Venom contacted me and told me he cant do the UVWMap due to time problems :(:( :ball:

musashi212
06-29-2002, 02:55 AM
I just modeled and map and saber myself in an hour.
here is a screen shoot...

http://www.geocities.com/courier411/obi.jpg

i have it all mapped. And textured. The only problem is when i inserted into the game the saber is grey.

Oh i did a mistake on the map, which i am currently in the process of fixing. The problem is i mapped only on of those grey powercells at the bottom.

I took this project, becasue i am getting NO help on the gun...SO i can not get it into the game. Well i keep trying

Master Shawn
06-29-2002, 02:57 AM
Well, you need to make a .skin file, send me your saber files to my email and I could fix it, that is, if you want me to. shawn21_logic@hotmail.com

And as it seems someones made a better model than mine I might as well scrap my model :(

musashi212
06-29-2002, 03:03 AM
Dude, i made a skin file. I have the skin looking good in the md3 viewer. I pack the .jpg file along with the md3 and glm. Then it is just a ugly grey.....I am currently adjusting the uvmap...So i am gonna have to recolor verything....But i do a quick color to give you an idea...

morphius_doh
06-29-2002, 03:04 AM
Wow! Even without the skin there's a lot of detail that can be see. Should be awsome when it's been skinned.

musashi212
06-29-2002, 04:11 AM
http://www.geocities.com/courier411/texture.jpg

still no texture?

Norin Radd
06-29-2002, 04:22 AM
Well, Venom thanks for trying. We appreciate it.

Musashi, can you give us some close up shots?:D

musashi212
06-29-2002, 04:41 AM
how?

Rocketman
06-29-2002, 04:41 AM
yeah i think in that pic it still doesn't have textures on the inside part of the saber. great model you made.

master shawn don't give up. still try and get it done so we'll have two good ones to choose from. did you ever talk to illogic, the guy who skinned the first one?

Norin Radd
06-29-2002, 04:45 AM
Originally posted by musashi212
how?

Does anyone know how the modelers take screenshots of the sabers in their hands?:D

Master Shawn
06-29-2002, 04:49 AM
Yeah, Illogic said he was too busy with a CS mod, he recommded someone but never sent me the email addy :(

musashi212
06-29-2002, 04:50 AM
I have narrowed the problem down to an error i get when exporting. There is no 0ne-one corresondice between texture vertices and true vertices.

if anybody has any solutions

DarthFallen_NYC
06-29-2002, 04:55 AM
This doesn't motter musashi, the problem happens when you cut verticles. The mesh still will show up the right way so u can basicly just ignore this error.

BTW, did u go on thursday to that free photoshop class on 54th? I was about to go but then this bitch called me because she was bored so I went over to her hause and smked up and therefore I forgot about the it. was it any good though?

illOgic
06-29-2002, 05:04 AM
ok peeps....the last one i got done had issues and thats what lead to its oddball size, and it looks funny ingame. we fixed the "coming out the wrong side" problem, but it would be nice to get one done and done right that i can apply this skin too.

1: has to be under 1000 vertices, or it wont compile.
2: the mesh has to be on one file, max size of 512x512
3: compiler needs to know whats up.

Lord_yig compiled the last one, and its not his fault by any means, when i got it modeled i had no idea about jk2 modding. so, compile you saber or get it compiled before its skinned, get it the way you want it to look in game, make sure everythings right, and hell yea, ill apply this skin to it.

http://www.ghostopsmod.com/pix/illogic/saber.gif

like i siad, please compile it, and it get it the way you want it to look in game before you holla at me....cause it was a pain to edit **** after its been skinned. i need a 3ds and mesh file of the model at 52 X 512 size...at least.

let me know.

musashi212
06-29-2002, 05:05 AM
no, i went to the discreet meeting. I got to play on ultra fast machines, and Play with max 5...plus free beer

illOgic
06-29-2002, 05:09 AM
ohhhh yea...and ive been reading the comments you guys are making about the saber.....


whos that person that said size doesnt matter? ;)

musashi212
06-29-2002, 05:18 AM
so, I have to make the saber 512x512.... This maybe my problem.

I used the texporter, i am exporting it out at 800x400.

should i crank that down, to 500x500....The reason i ask this is beyond the art aspect, the rest is cryptic.

Master Shawn
06-29-2002, 06:53 AM
ive fixed my model yo be movie accurate for the most part, and after extensive side removing and hiegh segment deleting, I have still left 1480 polys, how can I get any more gone without making all of my cylinders even less than 8 sides :confused:

musashi212
06-29-2002, 07:01 AM
post a pic...If your using 3d studio max use a poly optimizer. Though it only takes so much.

Master Shawn
06-29-2002, 07:18 AM
I dont have 3dsMax(I wish...) heres a pic of the current one, it looks all squary cause I have turned off the smooth feature for editting, any suggestions on how to get rid of 400+polys would be helpful. does anyone know how to get rid of polys on the cylinders I have editted meshes on, if I could get rid of some of those without screwing up the models structure I would be in the clear and then some.
http://mr8472.netfirms.com/almost.jpg And yes, this one only has three pylon things on the emitter, I got around to fixing it :D

musashi212
06-29-2002, 07:24 AM
does the model work in game, or is there just too many verts?

I would say most of your problem lies in the sphere at the bottom, did you make a sphere, and just attach it?


what i did was extrude/bevel the bottom of the saber. Then used a scale to round out the edges.

that should take care a good chuck of polys.

Master Shawn
06-29-2002, 07:41 AM
the bottom part is all cone brushes and cylinders, I think I can delete one of them and get away with it in the texture(whenever that gets done, we may never know...)

Master Shawn
06-30-2002, 12:46 PM
(sorry for double post) I got the thing to work in-game finally, looks great, im still looking for someone to mesh this for me, I am confident I can do the skin, might even use a shader on it to make it shiny, any volunteers for the mesh?

Mandalorian iTi
07-04-2002, 11:10 AM
Ya i found the diffreences in the EP2 and 1 saber, sry guys for saying that:(