PDA

View Full Version : NPC's in MP?


griphon668
06-16-2002, 07:45 PM
Greetz all
I remeber reading something a few weeks ago about how u can spawn SP NPC's (like a ****eload of Storm troopers etc.) in Multiplayer. Even saw some screenshots.
Firstly...is this possible
Secondly...if so...how do u do it.

Plz help

Master Xavier
06-16-2002, 08:28 PM
when cheats are active type in the console:

/g2animent

then you get a stormtrooper with a really good aim and a big yellow bubble around him that makes him imune to force!!!!!!! :eek:

teleguy
06-16-2002, 09:14 PM
posted by normal
Some Findings (in regards to the DLL sources recently released)
Three commands (right before "thedestroyer" too!), were set to only be compiled in when it was a debug release, I took the time to enable these and try them out on a multiplayer server, being a server-side only modification. I had two others join me in a game, to test these commands.

First command:

headexplodey

Rather simple, kills you and your head flies up, and occasionally will bounce up and down. What I mean by "your head flies up", is that your head is dismembered, and given a great upper velocity.


Second command:

loveandpeace

This one is probably the most hilarious command i've seen in a game yet, want to kiss your opponent? this is the command to use, all you do is walk up and have your saber holstered (if that's the weapon your using). Then do "loveandpeace", it will set your animations to the kissing ones in a loop.

I took a look at the code for the g2animent command, and found the correct parameters:


Third command:

g2animent

The command showing the greatest amount of use to me. This will spawn a pseudo-entity, that, on certain maps, will have an AI. These will act like single-player NPCs. We had some fun spawning dozens of them at the same time. =)

The spawned NPCs also seem to be force resistant (you can see this in a couple screenshots, the yellow spheres)

How to use g2animent:

Basic NPC Spawning:
g2animent 0
^ spawns Stormtrooper
g2animent 1
^ spawns Rodian
g2animent 2
^ spawns Jan

Custom NPC Spawning:
After I re-read the custom NPC spawning code, I found out what I was doing wrong, here's how to do it.

g2animent 3 <alignment> <weapon> <model filename & path> <sound path>

Example:
corrected the example, typos.
g2animent 3 2 2 "models/players/luke/model.glm" "sound/chars/luke/misc"
^ Would spawn an NPC allied to you, using Luke's Model & Sounds, with a Light Saber.


alignment:
0 - Unknown alignment, probably makes it attack everyone
1 - Evil alignment, attacks you & players
2 - Good alignment, attacks evil NPCs.

weapon (updated):
0 - None
1 - Stun Baton
2 - Light Saber
3 - Bryar Pistol
4 - Blaster
5 - Disruptor
6 - Bowcaster
7 - Repeater
8 - DEMP2
9 - Fletchette
10 - Rocket Launcher
11 - Thermal Grenades
12 - Trip Mines
13 - Det Packs
14 - Emplaced Gun (?? -- Probably not safe to use)
^ from reading another post, this seems to give you the ability to "box" with your hands.
15 - Turret (?? -- Probably not safe to use)

model:
path & filename of a model using the humanoid animations,
eg: models/players/luke/model.glm

DO NOT USE MODELS THAT YOU KNOW DO NOT USE THE HUMANOID ANIMATIONS! It'll result in a crash, (I tried to spawn a protocol droid with a lightsaber.. baaad results!)

sound path:
Path to the sound set that will be used,
eg: sound/chars/luke/misc


Screenshots can be found here:

http://force.tproc.org/debug/

I have put together a little .ZIP of the Modification I have created, simply extract the ZIP file to JK2INSTALLDIR\GameData

It will extract three files, one file being a BAT file which will launch JK2 with the modification and start with the map ffa_bespin.

Download Here: http://force.tproc.org/debug/debug.zip

Master Xavier
06-16-2002, 09:23 PM
that doesn't work? I can only spawn stormtroopers?:confused: