PDA

View Full Version : Reflection and weapon placement


sights0d
06-19-2002, 03:33 AM
Folks... I need some help...
1. How do I make a reflective floor.
2. How do I install weapon pickups.

Grets Sirob
06-19-2002, 04:46 AM
1. No clue.
2. It's an entity. Right click on the 2d veiw, and go to the"weapons" menu(or something like that) and select the weapon you want. Then put it where you want it. Voila! Weapons! And if you want ammo, goto the "ammo" menu, and select the ammo you want.
Get it?




:there's no bantha smily either, jk2.net.: *bantha call*

sights0d
06-19-2002, 04:17 PM
One down... NOW TELL ME ABOUT THE FLOORS! TELL ME NOW!!!

Eagle_e7
06-19-2002, 04:23 PM
Hi

To make a reflective floor use the "mirror_floor" or "mirror_floor2" texture(not sure if there are any others)

And then place a misc_portal_surface entity just above your floor.

That should work:)

sights0d
06-21-2002, 06:30 AM
Hmm... which folder are they in? (the floors, I mean.

sights0d
06-21-2002, 06:52 AM
So... I looked into the vader chamber pk3 and I found that he has a shader in there that I don't have. Where do I find the mirror_floor shader? I JUST CAN'T FIND IT ANYWHERE!

Xcom
06-21-2002, 06:56 AM
They are under textures/tests but mind you they didn't work in my case cuz they were pointing to the non-existing textures so basically I had to make a new shader.

sights0d
06-21-2002, 07:27 AM
Actually... I found the shaders in test/ but after I use the portal entity, do I have to do something else to link to the floor?

Xcom
06-21-2002, 07:29 AM
No

sights0d
06-21-2002, 07:40 AM
K...put the texture in as the floor... but after compiling, it doesn't reflect. All I get is that black and white grid that implies a missing texture ingame. Any ideas?

sights0d
06-21-2002, 07:41 AM
Oh yeah... and I made sure to put that portal entity in.

Grets Sirob
06-21-2002, 07:58 AM
Don't you have to target the portal thing to the floor? I don't have any experiance in this, but I think you do...




:wookiee: Raaarwwaag!

RichDiesal
06-21-2002, 08:26 AM
Don't you have to target the portal thing to the floor? I don't have any experiance in this, but I think you do...

Nope. Just needs to be sitting in front of the textured face within 64 grid units.

And hmm... does it do that in both MP and SP?

Xcom
06-21-2002, 08:32 AM
Originally posted by sights0d
All I get is that black and white grid that implies a missing texture ingame.

Told ya so

volrathxp
06-21-2002, 09:13 AM
mirrpr_floor2 works. load the "tests" texture set and use that. although it tiles so i dunno if you want that. but it's reflective. :D

volrath

sights0d
06-21-2002, 09:13 AM
I got it working after I used gtk on it. I don't understand why. Anyway... I was curious... I don't like the floor under the reflection. How do I change the floor? I don't know how to run shadered