PDA

View Full Version : Vampire Hunter D player (WIP) again. Need just a few more questions answered.


VampireHunterD
06-20-2002, 02:29 PM
Okay, my nerves have calmed down dramatically, I have finally
figured out how to get the overall # of polys on a player model
shown, and I am now going back to work on the D player model.

I have finally worked almost everything out. I did have to get rid
of the sword and scabbard. I also had to get rid of my original
cape, but don't worry, I replaced it with the Darth Vader model's.
Sorry I had to rip off that cape, But D would look really strange
without one on.

Alright, here's the problems that have been getting to me
lately:

1.)When I import the root.xsi file, it adds to my # of polys to
my model. I looked at the Vader model, looked at its # of polys,
and wondered how could it and the animation skeleton not
go over the limit in the game.

2.)I still fail to understand this stuff about weighting a player
model and adding bones to it. How does that work? And the
thing about skin modifiers. I'm totally lost there.

3.)Would it be okay if I deleted some parts from the skeleton?
I mean come on, it's not like D needs to blink or open his mouth.
In fact, he hardly ever talks, except for that weird thing in his
left hand. That thing talks way too much.

Heh Heh, that would be funny to actually have that as a part
for a player model. I guess you could use it to taunt with.
Too bad that couldn't be done. It would be funny though. Oh
well.

VampireHunterD
06-20-2002, 02:34 PM
Oh yeah, If you saw that partial thread that just got posted,
please just ignore it. Sorry about that, that was an accident.
oops.

Could someone please get that off of the forum?

^Invader
06-20-2002, 02:43 PM
Dude at least Ask Sithlord-ii if it's ok man...he worked his fingers to the bone on Vader. It's only right

Invader

MessiahErebus
06-20-2002, 02:45 PM
yeah man, that isn't cool, ripping others work even a small part, without checking first.

normal
06-20-2002, 02:46 PM
The word llama comes to mind..

Da MaN
06-20-2002, 02:49 PM
Hmm... I read this post and here's what I think.

URGHEY.

Take the time to learn the modeling process and stop ripping off the talented artists in the editing community. If we wanted partial rips of models and pasted damn heads we wouldnt have something original. So stop being a lazy freak and go learn something, it may help you later down on the road.

EDIT====================================
Since my sig doesnt show,

<============= I was registered here before you were born.

:3headed:

VampireHunterD
06-20-2002, 02:56 PM
Okay, Okay, Okay, I'm sorry. I'll make my own cape.

^Invader
06-20-2002, 03:05 PM
man it's not saying don't use it but at least ask sithlord-ii to use it...he's a pretty cool guy and would probably let you as long as you give him credit....Which is what anyone wants.

VampireHunterD
06-20-2002, 03:26 PM
It's alright. Despite the fact I have just got started into modeling
characters I guess you're right about it being wrong to use
other people's stuff that they worked for. Anyway I went
back and optimized the original cape I had made. It worked out
and the player model is now 2962 polys in all. I guess I was
just spazing out when I didn't know what to do.

Well, even though Sithlord-ii probably won't even read this
I apologize for trying to use his cape for my model. I'm now
using my own. I also apologize to the entire community.