PDA

View Full Version : People who actually understand func_trains! Help me, you're my only hope!


DividedByZero
06-21-2002, 05:05 AM
I now have a func_train, it moves around, and displays the model I want it to, but the model is faceing the wrong direction, how do I change its direction? I typed in angle, then set it to what I wanted it to be, but nothing happened.

Grets Sirob
06-21-2002, 05:10 AM
I don't know.




:wookiee: Raaarwwaag!

Manquesa
06-21-2002, 07:02 AM
try rotating the actuall brush of the func_train.

sights0d
06-21-2002, 10:06 AM
Wow. "I don't know." How absolutely worthless.

I'm going to say that the best way is to delete and start over. Put the model in first, then orient it, pick the angle in the entities menu, then add it to the train. Before I did that, I'd follow Manquesa's tip. Worked for me.

patchx
06-21-2002, 01:28 PM
from my experience u select the entire func_train and use the key "angle" and the value of whatever the angle should be (u can work it out by making a misc_model over the first pathcprner that it spawns at and changing its angle value until its facing the right way and then copying that angle value and pasting it in the func_trains entity menu) the angle wont effect the brush parts of the train only the model

there was a few instances where this didnt work for me for some annoying reason so i used the turn train button on the first path_corners entity menu to make it face the model towards the next path corner when it starts moving but it took 2 seconds for it to turn so i made the first path_corner that it spawns at out of the way so that the player wouldnt see the func_train until it had turned in the right direction

this was just ship flybys though

-patch

RichDiesal
06-21-2002, 01:40 PM
Originally posted by sights0d
Wow. "I don't know." How absolutely worthless.

Geez, all these mean people appearing suddenly. What, did you all get kicked out of Massassi? :p

DividedByZero
06-21-2002, 01:42 PM
Ha ha ha ha! Great one Rich. Most likely he is from mass ASS ii :).

Manquesa
06-21-2002, 08:27 PM
I think he was refering to Gret's post

DividedByZero
06-22-2002, 01:22 AM
Huh? Rich was talking about that a-hole that insulted grets.

Oh, and my god damned ships are still flying sideways, even when I give them and agle value.

In the entity menu, I don't see the command that rotates the train, can anyone tell me what it is and how to use it?

RichDiesal
06-22-2002, 02:52 AM
Don't give them an angle. Rotate the brush that makes up the func_train (the reference brush for the model) instead.

That might fix it.

DividedByZero
06-22-2002, 03:17 AM
Does the refrence brush include the orgin brush? I have a small orgin brush inside a larger caulked brush. Do I rotate one, or both?

sights0d
06-22-2002, 03:33 AM
Actually, yeah... I was referring to the earlier post. I just don't know how to quote yet. Sorry for the mix up. I think that func_train is very important to know how to use for big maps. Or even little tiny ones.

Manquesa
06-22-2002, 06:00 AM
Originally posted by DividedByZero
Huh? Rich was talking about that a-hole that insulted grets.


Well I happen to agree with what he said. I guess that makes me an a-hole too.
Sorry, but a post just saying "I don't know" is pointless and was mostly likely done just to inflate his post count. I have no problem with Grets as i'm sure SightsOd doesn't either, it just seemed that he was making a simple comment about it.
Don't be so touchy, this is how flame wars get started.

DividedByZero
06-22-2002, 06:07 AM
Grets is my friend, and there was no reason to flame him. I don't think you're an a-hole, but the other guy was out of hand. It was harmless.

Wes Marrakesh
06-22-2002, 06:23 AM
Originally posted by DividedByZero
Grets is my friend
Mine too... he helped me stop my thread (WIP: MoC Skyscraper Level) from being hijacked.:D :rolleyes:

Manquesa
06-22-2002, 09:23 AM
Originally posted by DividedByZero
Grets is my friend, and there was no reason to flame him. I don't think you're an a-hole, but the other guy was out of hand. It was harmless.

Alright, this is the last thing i'm gonna say about this.

My point was that I didn't think SightsOd was flaming him, it seemed to me to just be a simple observation of that fact that, that was a senseless post.

I don't think it's fair to SIghtsOd that he's being frowned on and being called an a-hole for that.

But then again, everyone has the right to their own opinion, so I will now shut up about this.

RichDiesal
06-22-2002, 02:33 PM
It my official opinion that you all need to drink a quart of Nyquil and sleep off all your grumpiness. :p

DividedByZero
06-22-2002, 02:37 PM
Look, it's over, now help me fix my train! Nothing you guys have sugested seems to work for me :(

sights0d
06-22-2002, 04:05 PM
Lets see... have you tried making the model, then making the func_train, then linking the two together? I don't know if it works that way... OOH!! Maybe make it func_group? Or would that negate the train aspect? Hmm.

Anyway... nobody wants a war. I apologize to anyone that had to read my first post on this thread. Now... I think it's over. My comment was in questionable taste and I'd like to take it back... I just don't know how to retract it (I'm fairly new to forums).

patchx
06-22-2002, 04:09 PM
is it just a flyby or is it something that the player can see before it starts moving?

-patch

sights0d
06-22-2002, 04:10 PM
Wow... I hadn't even looked up higher on the thread! Boy did I start something! Whoo! Anyway... I tried a couple of things and nothing worked. Have you tried using GTK and Radient? I've found that in order to work on my map and fix some of what I thought were easy things (like mirrors) I had to switch back and forth. I'm going out of town tomorrow, but when I get back, I'll give it a go on both programs.

sights0d
06-22-2002, 04:12 PM
Oh... and... what the heck is Massassi? Aside from a planet, I mean? I'm new to the whole "online communitee thing."

sights0d
06-22-2002, 04:15 PM
Oh... did some research... and before I get corrected, I just found out that its a race, not a planet.

Thought of something else... What exactly is the model? You might not even have to make it, you might be able to make it in brushes, like a prefab.

RichDiesal
06-22-2002, 04:33 PM
http://www.massassi.net

Massassi was one of the last remaining bastions of hope for fans of the original Jedi Knight (Dark Forces 2) when the rest of the community fell apart.

They also put "pressure" (so they call it) on LucasArts and "encouraged" them to produce another Star Wars game. Thus, most of them (at least one of their admins I believe it was that sent me a hateful email one time...*cough*) believe that the community owes something to them for always being around.

Recently, there was a pissy person over at Massassi who was upset that his map was up at http://www.JediOutcastMaps.com and had that site shut down for a few days - in the meantime, everyone thought it was Massassi itself that had done it and a bit of a hatred grew.

In any case, JediKnightII.net and JediOutcastMaps.com are both the primary "competitors" with Massassi, so there is a bit of ill will/tension between the three, causing random jabs by patrons of each every so often.

(I personally am a fan of http://jedioutcastmaps.com because it's so well organized and easy to find maps)

ANYWAY...

As for the actual mapping comment, he only has the model (an md3) as far as I know... a prefab would be much easier for him to make a train out of, but I'm pretty sure he doesn't have that option.

Did you try rotating the origin brush? Just curious.

sights0d
06-22-2002, 04:40 PM
Wow... Had no idea that politics happened in our peaceful corner of the galaxy. I think that Massassi, Outcast maps, and JKii.net should all bash it out in the ffa_sandarena map:D

Anyway... as far as the md3 is concerned, I was thinking that he could recreate it as a bunch of brushes. It depends on how difficult it is to construct or what it is intended to do. Or even if it is a good model (I was working on a model problem for a week and then my fiance pointed out that it didn't look good in the map). Anyway.

Oh... My fiance saw my post and she flamed me afterwards for being a jerk... so it looks like I WAS WRONG!!! (It's a big man who can say that).

sights0d
06-22-2002, 04:56 PM
You know... the most ironic thing is... Grets never posted on this thread again after his first post... so he may never even have seen any of this!

Anyway... hope he accepts my apology. K.

I should probably stop posting if I'm this much trouble:(

sights0d
06-22-2002, 05:00 PM
Hey Rich! I had no idea that you made the ffa_sandarena map until I just looked at your site! Thank you! I've been dueling on it all day with my gal! I also mentioned it to a guy who has a local server and I think they might want to run it as part of their normal map set. Been hoping that we could get it going ffa style!

sights0d
06-22-2002, 05:26 PM
How about this: Don't change the orientation of the md3, change the orientation of the map! Make a new map... load your current project (like a prefab) and rotate the entire map (z rotation) and then put the md3 in whatever orientation it wants to be in! This won't help if you're making many md3's going in multiple directions, but if it's just one, that shouldn't be a prob! This way you don't even have to rebuild your map!

I don't know if that was a stroke of genius or just a stroke. Let me know if it helped.

DividedByZero
06-23-2002, 01:45 AM
I've had this idea too, but like you said, it won't work w/ my multiple ships flying around. I'll try and explain the whole thing better.

http://home.attbi.com/~chester394/wsb/html/view.cgi-home.html-.html

Take a look at that pic that you see there. I have a ship (a func_train that displays a cloud car md3) that flys in from the left, lands on that landing pad, then takes off and flys off the map to the right.

Then there are the two roads, I want ships going in different directions on each road. I have trains that display the models, and they fly in the correct direction, but they're faceing (from the perspective of the picture) right.

I've rotated the orgin brush, the brush around it, both of them, the entire train. I'm going to try all of these again just to be sure, so I'll report back later today.

And sights, I don't think you understand something, you don't add and model, then attach it to a train, it's a command in the train entity to display the model.

Xcom
06-23-2002, 02:23 AM
Originally posted by DividedByZero
I've rotated the orgin brush, the brush around it, both of them, the entire train. I'm going to try all of these again just to be sure, so I'll report back later today.


Hehe, that's silly (no offence) and won't change a thing. :p AFAIK, there is no way to change orientation of a model2 in func_train in MP. In SP you just set angle of func_train itself and it will adjust its model accordingly but in MP it doesn't work. Sorry.
The only way for you is make different model, ie. in Milkshape. Import the existing one, rotate it, export as different model.

DividedByZero
06-23-2002, 03:10 AM
Thanks X-Com, I really appreciate it. Importing to milkshape then rotateing shouldn't be that hard right? I hope so :) Mayone one of the people on the modeling forum can do it for me if it's above my n00bish ability.

Xcom
06-23-2002, 03:20 AM
It's quite easy actually. Exactly what md3 model are you referring to?

patchx
06-23-2002, 05:36 AM
if its flying in from a point the player cant see why dont you just make an extra path corner that is placed before the original first path corner and set it to turn train?

it takes two seconds for the train to turn so it has to be out of sight for those two seconds

thats how i got my flybys facing the right way when setting the angle and turning the brush wouldnt work

or isnt the turn train option available in mp?

-patch

Xcom
06-23-2002, 05:38 AM
Originally posted by patchx
or isnt the turn train option available in mp?

Nope.

patchx
06-23-2002, 05:43 AM
oh....
sorry...

...mp sux
lol

-patch

DividedByZero
06-23-2002, 06:45 AM
You really got me all excited when you told me that the first time patch :). Thanks for trying though, I don't understand why it ISN'T in mp. And thanks again X-Com!

RichDiesal
06-23-2002, 01:09 PM
Originally posted by sights0d
Hey Rich! I had no idea that you made the ffa_sandarena map until I just looked at your site!

Er, wha? You mean duel_kamino or just misread something? :p

sights0d
06-23-2002, 03:06 PM
I noticed when I loaded the ffa_sandarena map that it had a big semi in the lower right hand corner, so I figured that it was yours, since there was the same logo on your site. Perhaps I was mistaken. I'll research. In the mean time... FFA_SANDARENA IS AWESOME!!!

DividedByZero
06-25-2002, 02:26 AM
How would I make a train do damage on contact?

RichDiesal
06-25-2002, 03:37 AM
You wouldn't. :p

You would have the train push the player into a trigger_hurt on the far side of the map instead. :p

DividedByZero
06-25-2002, 03:43 AM
I suppose just shoveing them to their death would be fine huh? How would I make it do that?


And Rich, while you're here, I think I'm doing my sky box wrong, I have a hollowed brush around the entire map that I applied the bespin sky shader to, is that what I'm supposed to do?

RichDiesal
06-25-2002, 03:55 AM
And no. :)

First of all, never use hollow.

Second, you should only have a sky shader on the actual surfaces that you want the sky to be seen through. Look at my Skies tutorial for an example.

It might be a little different for you, though, if you want to see the ships make an approach to your map. In that case, you'd want to build sky brushes out to encompass the area that you want to be able to see the ships in.