PDA

View Full Version : Will time revolve in KotOR like Zelda does....?


MHB430
06-21-2002, 06:38 AM
I was wondering... since its an rpg... will time revolve as in you can see the sun set or sun rise...night and day...etc.?

Old_Ben
06-21-2002, 09:42 AM
Wasn't Zelda an adventure game. Anyway I thought that was kind of annoying getting caught in the field when it turned from day to night.

MHB430
06-21-2002, 11:27 AM
Its more realistic though... i duno i guess we will see for ourselfs =\

StormHammer
06-23-2002, 06:09 PM
Good question. Personally, I like Day/Night cycles - it's more realistic. Add in some random weather effects for each section, and that'll be even better. :)

Com Raven
06-23-2002, 08:44 PM
Bioware's rpgs always had day/bight cycles....

and we have screenies by day and by night....

Steg
06-23-2002, 10:06 PM
Day/night cycles would b very kool
and random weather would b nice aswell
if there are wild creatures would different creatures b about at day and night
that would b brillient! :D

Steg

Com Raven
06-23-2002, 10:50 PM
they did that in BG II and NWN, so I think this one will have it too...

Ewok Hunter
07-21-2002, 07:54 AM
but BG/NWN cycles were only cosmetic, they didn't really do that much with them :(

Com Raven
07-21-2002, 09:53 AM
there were different monsters, and for example s l u t s were only around at night...

MHB430
07-22-2002, 12:19 AM
Aright, i guess this might be off the topic but...

I dont play that many rpg's so i dont know much about Boundries.... Since the game takes place on a planet... will there be Boundries? Cuz, I always thought there were no boundries in RPG's. Correct me if im wrong.

O'yea, How long will it take it to go from Day to Night?....visa versa. (Im pretty sure each planet varies....but if you can give me estimate) =D

covenant_bad
07-22-2002, 06:48 AM
My guesstamite for long the cycles would be is around perhaps 10 minutes for each time period.

Com Raven
07-22-2002, 07:53 AM
yeah, I think that estimate sounds good...

Ewok Hunter
07-22-2002, 05:15 PM
Originally posted by MHB430
Aright, i guess this might be off the topic but...
I dont play that many rpg's so i dont know much about Boundries.... Since the game takes place on a planet... will there be Boundries? Cuz, I always thought there were no boundries in RPG's. Correct me if im wrong. of course there are boundaries, otherwise your computer would spend years prossesing the first level. most of Bioware's RPGs have smaller areas with trassisions to travel in between.

Com Raven
07-23-2002, 07:46 AM
Bio

BI= Black Isle... ;)

Ewok Hunter
07-23-2002, 08:29 PM
there, fixed it and the messed up qoute box as well

Com Raven
07-24-2002, 06:38 AM
that's the kind of forum-goer I like..

Mandalorian iTi
07-24-2002, 01:55 PM
Whats RPGs mean? Role Playing Games?Is that it?

Ewok Hunter
07-24-2002, 05:32 PM
yes RPG= role playing game

virtualoctopus
07-24-2002, 05:59 PM
Originally posted by covenant_bad
My guesstamite for long the cycles would be is around perhaps 10 minutes for each time period.

That seems too long, personally. I'd prefer about half an hour, so a day would take an hour on a standard world.

Of course, there could be a 'wait' or 'rest' option that would let sleep at the times you wanted, instead of, like many other RPGS, you being able to battle non-stop for several weeks if you wanted to and didnt have to rest to heal..

Ewok Hunter
07-25-2002, 11:18 PM
is dungon seige even a true rpg? I suppose if diablo is one...

qibbish
07-26-2002, 03:10 AM
there were different monsters, and for example s l u t s were only around at night...



Actually, they were out in the day as well--but seeing as how they were sober, they were hidden better.


(:: anarchosyn ::)

qibbish
07-26-2002, 03:39 AM
I dont play that many rpg's so i dont know much about Boundries.... Since the game takes place on a planet... will there be Boundries? Cuz, I always thought there were no boundries in RPG's. Correct me if im wrong.


I'm currently replaying Baldur's Gate II (with ToB), so I feel rather dear to this question.

In the past, boundaries have most certainly existed, but they were integrated into the story somehow.

In BG1 and 2, they utilized a dual map system to get you around. The first map, the overland map, was the full scope of the game - picture an atlas map of New York state. You couldn't really move an avatar on this map, but certain cities (NYC, Buffalo, Lockport) were represented by icons. You clicked on these icons to move from where you were to where you wanted to go. Once you arrived, you were transported to the second type of map, the location map, which was either a city, or a patch of wilderness. Generally speaking, these maps were about 1m by 1m (relative to the size of the game characters). A city would sometimes have walls as boundaries, and other times they would allow a bit of the surrounding wilderness around the city to be exploitable. Eventually though, you will reach an edge, which takes you to the aforementioned overland map when crossed. Occasionally you would get "waylaid by enemies and forced to defend yourself," when traveling the overland map, and this would move you to a smaller location map specially created for the fight (randomized trees, or a basic city template). Once you left these special locations you could never return (so don't drop any items! ;) ), but when you crossed the edge you would reappear on the overland map, somewhere between your departure point and your destination.

If you played it, picture how travel was done in super mario 3 (on the normal NES). The differences are extreme, but that's the general idea.

Dungeons also existed, and would be accessed through location maps (location maps lead to location maps which lead to location maps... ect). Their boundaries were, of course, the walls of the dungeon.

You'd never run into an invisible wall in the middle of a meadow, or anything like that. That's my one fear regarding expandable CRPGs like Star Wars Galaxies (which will be an AMAZING game).

Sleep tight...


(:: mr. me

D@rth M@ul
07-26-2002, 04:11 AM
^ thats alot of typing.



Day and knight cycles would add to the realism of the game, but
if its not in the game I will still play.

Com Raven
07-26-2002, 07:47 AM
you may be referring to Dungeon Siege, which didn't habe boundaries asofar that you never have to load....

you load the game once, and then you could play through it all without loading, but of course there are still boarders to the areas you can visit...