PDA

View Full Version : How the hell do i edit bsp's?


dolemite123
06-21-2002, 07:24 AM
Help me i know not how to edit bsp's with jk2 radiant. i am trying to edit a map i dl from this site but it is in bsp form. i need advice.:confused:

Xcom
06-21-2002, 07:28 AM
You don't edit them. ;)
BSP=Compiled Map=Not editable=Only playable :D

sights0d
06-21-2002, 10:03 AM
Yeah... I don't know what that's about. I guess it's so that folks don't steal from each other. But it'd be nice.

RichDiesal
06-21-2002, 10:37 AM
...because it would be horribly inefficient to have an uncompiled map? Because the engine would need to refer to every single light, every single area, and calculate all the visibility and lighting information in real time, and in to do that, we'd hafta revert to a graphics quality of that of Wolfenstein 3D?

For your information, you can in fact decompile a map, although quite a bit of information is lost in the decompile process, namely because lighting and such is recalculated in the form of lightmaps (once again) for the sake of engine efficiency.

It was not "so that folks don't steal from each other," it was so that the game works properly.

As long as you're in the mapping forum, you might as well understand compiling... so head on over to http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com/tutorials and look that one up. Maybe you'll learn something.

;)

UniKorn
06-21-2002, 04:43 PM
Originally posted by RichDiesal
http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com/tutorials[/url] and look that one up. Maybe you'll learn something.;)

Now that is shameless http://unikorn.insidejediknight.com selfpimpage :D

RichDiesal
06-21-2002, 05:59 PM
Well at least my site is for the betterment of the entire JK2 community. :p

EDIT: Well I suppose yours is too, but that's beside the point. :)

sights0d
06-22-2002, 03:34 AM
Nice job of <idon'thaveawebpageofmyown.com> irony, unikorn. PS, love your work.

[RAA]-=Chi3f=-
06-22-2002, 04:08 AM
You need a BSP rip utility. I used one extensively for Quake1 and CS, but it's been a while so I'm not sure. You'll probably get a lot of conversion loss depending on the quality of your RIP prog. I suggest not using it, it'll save you a headache.

:)

UniKorn
06-22-2002, 04:48 AM
Thx sights0d, btw, ripping bsp's is bad, you'll lose all the patches and texture information. You better not do it. I never tried it myself, so I don't have a 100% info on what stays on and what doesn't, but you just better not :)

UniKorn
06-22-2002, 04:49 AM
Originally posted by RichDiesal
Well at least my site is for the betterment of the entire JK2 community. :p
EDIT: Well I suppose yours is too, but that's beside the point. :)

My problem atm is that they put a security setting on my database => I cannot do any insert statements :( But they'll fix it soon ;)

Graphicsgod
06-22-2002, 09:26 PM
You can convert a bsp back into a map, but it can really scew up that map. Sometimes all textures are screwed up, the entities are all gone, all patch meshes are turned into brushes and screwed up, some brushes are missing, and etc... You never really know what your going to get when you convert the bsp.

It's only worth it if your really desperate for certain basic geometry.

If you need the dos based converter, try putting in "bsp 2 map" or "bsp to map", in the search field at www.fileplanet.com (http://www.fileplanet.com).

Enjoy.

jipe
06-22-2002, 09:34 PM
the sof2/jo bsp formats are different from q3 - there isn't a deBSPer out there that works for them

Cmdr. Antilles
06-22-2002, 09:59 PM
You can't decompile a map without losing texture and patch mesh info. :D

Jango_Fett91
06-24-2002, 01:40 AM
COMMANDER ANTILLES! I HAVE FOUND YOU! I WILL PUT A VIRUS IN YOUR COMPUTER IF YOU DONT GET BACK TO YOUR THREAD!:mad: