PDA

View Full Version : Animation editing question


Harukaze
06-21-2002, 08:40 PM
Alright, I'm sure this has been discussed before, but then half the questions here have been at one point or another. There are simply too many threads to hunt through everything.

What I would like to know is twofold: first, is it possible to modify the humanoid animation configuration in SP . If so, how [I]feasible is it. Make that threefold since I just thought up another one. If possible, can one make animations specific for one particular model? In other words, having a movement that only one particular model can do? I imagine it would have to be so, but it cannot hurt to ask : )

Commodus
06-21-2002, 10:53 PM
I don't think anybody has managed to find out yet because no-one's actually edited the humanoid.gla yet (you need SoftImage to do it and I've heard that it isn't a piece of cake)...

Emon
06-22-2002, 12:57 AM
Yup, very expensive, very hard to learn.

Harukaze
06-22-2002, 07:48 AM
Misunderstood your post, at first. How expensive is this program you mentioned? Difficult to learn is relative, but cost is not.

Emon
06-22-2002, 09:00 AM
www.softimage.com. Go find out yourself. It's not like you open the thing up, point and click and *BAM* you have an entire new set of animations that are as good as the originals. I wouldn't bother spending the money, and no, you won't be able to find it warez, so don't even think it.

jipe
06-22-2002, 11:22 AM
You can lease it for several years for almost $8,000, with an option to buy it at the end of the lease (I'm guessing for several thousand more).

Savi
06-22-2002, 01:06 PM
ok iv asked this question a few times and no one has ever answerd it

why is it you CAN ONLY use softimage? there are many othere amation prgrams out there, why cant i use maya, rino, 3ds max, g-max for example

some one plz explan

Harukaze
06-22-2002, 07:52 PM
*dies* So that's what you mean by expensive. Uhm, yeah, what he said: why can't we use another program?

Commodus
06-22-2002, 11:10 PM
If Raven say that they made it with SoftImage, then that's probably the only program you can use to make your own animations. You could try and crack the format and create a viewer of your own, but that isn't easy....

Emon
06-23-2002, 01:54 AM
Yeah, you said it. Maybe in a year or two or three, someone will create a plugin for Milkshape3D or 3DSMax that will allow you to create, at the most, half-way decent animations. It would be sufficient for making SP cutscenes, small, short animations, saber animations would suck royally, probably, since they'd probably be under par. Softimage is like, REAL professional stuff, it's what was used to animate all 3D stuff in SW EP1 and EP2! :eek:

Savi
06-23-2002, 06:38 AM
ahhhh, ok thx for expalining it lol all i wanted to know

were can i get more info on the format ill see if i can crack it