PDA

View Full Version : Individual Stance Keys?


ToppDog
06-22-2002, 11:24 AM
Is there a way to assign additional keys to each individual stance like we do with the weapons & force powers?

Homeboy
06-22-2002, 06:50 PM
Since no one replied... I'd like to know how to bind keys to stances as well :P Can anyone answer?

CapNColostomy
06-22-2002, 07:25 PM
Geez...As it is, all you have to do is press "L" (default) to switch your stance. How lazy can you get? Scripting for saber styles? Maybe LA needs to sanction a new Raven update for this too! Or maybe I'm being sarcastic...

ToppDog
06-22-2002, 08:45 PM
It's not that I'm lazy, but I hate that stupid wiggly thing the saber does when you toggle through stances. Yes I could turn it off if it annoys me so much, but going to the stance you want immediately would look much cooler & more intimidating don't you think?

Dea
06-22-2002, 09:33 PM
you could write a script that automatically cycle through to the stance you want, but you will still need to cycle through

Luc Solar
06-22-2002, 10:10 PM
Yes, this is indeed a serious problem worth addressing....Raven will have to face the fact that if they do not quickly come out with a patch to fix this humongous flawl, JKII will lose each and every player it has.

Imagine wanting to switch from light stance to strong stance...--> you'd have to tap the same button TWICE! Yes, TWICE! OMFG! O-M-F-J-C-&-G!

(And I won't even mention the "wiggly thing" you have to put up with..)

I mean..seriously...I'm forced to resort to scripts every day to make this game even playable! ...and still the "wiggly thing" makes me wanna punch my fist through the monitor and right up Raven's ass! I'm telling you guys; if Raven doesn't fix.....doesn't.....fix...*gasp* ...if......I will.....I *gasp*...swear I will....ughhh...

*dies of Sarcasm Overload*



(No, I'm not sober right now, so what?! Quit whining and play the damn game! I mean...umm...you can't tell Me what to do, so STFU and respect my l337 $killz!)

ToppDog
06-23-2002, 08:50 AM
LOL! Now see, if you had sarcasm level 5 maybe you'd still be alive, albeit still lying there gasping.

Hey I can take a joke, but don't knock me for asking. The whole point of being able to edit this & that in the game is to be able to tweak things to our liking, & this is something I'd like tweaked. Mainly for the visuals alone; you don't see Obi Wan or Yoda cycling through their repertoire of fighting styles to get to the one they want now do you? This would be nice for a mod with all five stances or for even more in the future (Anakin's, Mace Windu's, Yoda's, Dooku's, Darth Maul's etc.). I don't want to cycle through 9 different stances to get to the tenth one. Would you? So, if you don't like it, Fuggoff (smile).

Dea, thanks. That may be a good option for now. Any ideas on how this might be done?

Luc Solar
06-23-2002, 04:41 PM
Originally posted by ToppDog
LOL! Now see, if you had sarcasm level 5 maybe you'd still be alive, albeit still lying there gasping.

Hey I can take a joke, but don't knock me for asking. The whole point of being able to edit this & that in the game is to be able to tweak things to our liking, & this is something I'd like tweaked. This would be nice for a mod with all five stances or for even more in the future I don't want to cycle through 9 different stances to get to the tenth one. Would you? So, if you don't like it, Fuggoff (smile).


Hehehe...you're right, of course. I just felt like making fun of the guy who is asking for a pair of dry socks just as he is drowning. Umm..you know what I mean. :D

There are a lot of *little things* that would make the game a lot more fun. I doubt it would be too difficult to have individual stance keys, or a possibility to choose your hilt (saber-) or have 100 different saber colours or custom taunts...

And it's weird that all 5 stances aren't available?! Like...why not?!

Oh well...untill then: Lez Do Da Wiggly Thing! :D

Homeboy
06-23-2002, 04:47 PM
I don't really think you can make a script with only the cycle stance command... Is there anything else in the console that may help?

Lunatic Jedi
06-23-2002, 05:04 PM
Originally posted by CapNColostomy
Geez...As it is, all you have to do is press "L" (default) to switch your stance. How lazy can you get? Scripting for saber styles? Maybe LA needs to sanction a new Raven update for this too! Or maybe I'm being sarcastic...

"Maybe" he says.

Oh... wait, he was being sarcastic when he said he was being...oh..."

*Lunatic force-jumps over the wall on his way out, trips on the top of the wall and lands head first.*

From behind the wall, Lunatics voice faintly yells out: "I'm okay! I just... erk!"

Pedro The Hutt
06-24-2002, 12:41 AM
(Note: if you move while switching styles the "wiggly" thing doesn't happen.. now isn't that revolutionary simple? change the styles while your walking someplace or while the saber is off and your "wiggly" thing which doesn't bother me at all won't happen)

HertogJan
06-24-2002, 02:37 AM
Originally posted by ToppDog
I don't want to cycle through 9 different stances to get to the tenth one. Would you? So, if you don't like it, Fuggoff (smile).



Yes, but we only have 3 stances :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

When we had a switch-to-light-stance option, you could script the forward lunge to be done anytime, regardless of what stance you're using then... It would be horrible...

That's why they didn't do that, and it's a good reason... yeah it would be comfortable to have such buttons, but for gameplay's sake, it's better that you have to cycle...

And yes, I allways switch stances while moving, then my opponent won't see what stance I'm using until he has my lightsaber in his stomach!