PDA

View Full Version : How to find out if I weighted my mesh properly?


SAIK HUAT
06-22-2002, 10:05 PM
How would you find out if I weighted my mesh properly? I am new to modeling and have only had 3dmax for 4 days. I have never attempted anything else in 3dsmax in my life. My only other experiance is with milkshape (I only have had that for a few months...).
This is my progress so far...
>I made my mesh.. (Done)
>I got the stormtrooper root.xsi and deleted all LODs/mesh (Done)
>I placed my mesh in place (And am unsure if theres extra skeletons/tags in my model because of the lods. I only deleted the mesh)
>I then started weighting it down. (no problems there)
>I move the cranium bones and the right arm and the mesh moves with them, but the rest of the body doesnt. (huh?)
>Do I have to weight the hands and caps?
>I have still yet to face putting the skin on (which I am having troubles with)

Can anyone help me here

SAIK HUAT
06-23-2002, 12:51 AM
Do I weight the hands on my model???

Madjai
06-23-2002, 01:16 AM
you have to weight every vertice on your model. EVERY

SAIK HUAT
06-23-2002, 01:54 AM
OK thanx dude.
I have now weighted EVERY vertice but the head goes all out of shape when I move the bones. everything else seems fine.