PDA

View Full Version : Modview error


inbredyokel
06-23-2002, 03:58 AM
Whenever I attempt to open a glm file in modview, I get an error message saying "Filesystem call made without initialization." Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

Delmar
06-23-2002, 04:29 AM
you mean this one:

http://outcast.reid.cx/images/examples/filesys.gif?

I just posted the same question not 10 mins ago. :D

Here's hoping someone knows what's up...

inbredyokel
06-23-2002, 05:16 AM
That would be the one. I'm guessing something like this would get answered pretty quickly in the modeling forum...I'm going to post a thread.

inbredyokel
06-23-2002, 01:44 PM
A little help please....anyone?

Plasmacoolant
06-23-2002, 05:17 PM
Hi,

Some things for you to check;

1. Is Modview installed to the

GameData\Tools

Directory?

---------------------------------

2. Have you extracted the

_humanoid.gla

and the

animation.cfg

files (from the assets0.pk3 in the base directory) to the

/GameData/base/models/players/_humanoid

directory

---------------------------------

3. Is the model you are trying to view in the

/GameData/base/models/players/MODELNAME?

Directory?

NOTE: do not put .pk3's in there the model has to be uncompressed to work with all textures and .skin files pointing to the right files.

---------------------------------

I think the error you are getting is because your are trying to open a .glm that is not in the

/GameData/base/models/players/

Directory,.......But I could be wrong. :)

-Plas

Delmar
06-23-2002, 11:53 PM
That did the trick. Thank you, sir.

inbredyokel
06-24-2002, 02:46 AM
That was quite helpful indeed. Thanks!

Plasmacoolant
06-24-2002, 05:47 PM
Happy to help.


-Plas :)

-=IJ=-PHATDaddy
02-07-2004, 01:03 AM
I've got the MODVIEW V 2.5. I've followed every direction out there to get the viewer going. But everytime I've done what is said and I goto load a model.glm and I get an error:

Model name XXXXXXX/_humanoid/model.glm exceeds MAX_QPATH.

I'm using Skins for JA and not JK, so that the only diffrence in the directions. Any help on getting it going on JA?

razorace
02-07-2004, 09:53 AM
It means the current folder structure that you're holding the files in is too big. either reduce the number of subdirectories they are in or shrink the folder name sizes.