PDA

View Full Version : Help Needed; RE: Yoda

sithlord-II
06-23-2002, 01:08 PM
hi guys
now, i am not a coder, never have been, never will be. Which is why, i am in here, crying for help
:)
I have received word from James Monroe that resizing characters within multiplayer is, in fact, quite possible, but not easy.
i emailed him recently about coding, and this was his response:

"Okay. I looked into the MP code and it's not going to be easy.
Ghoul2 IS setup to take scale as a parameter, but the game code always passes in the Identity matrix for it. So, yes, scale can be added by changing all the code to pass in entity.scale instead to those functions like:

trap_G2API_CollisionDetect and trap_G2API_GetBoltMatrix, etc.

The reason we didn't was that it could be a cheat to be physically smaller"

now, i have had a look through the code but i have no idea where to start on it, i think it has something to do with the properties for ent.modelscale or simply modelScale within those commands. This is an open request, and anyone who is interested in trying this out, Arco, Kinja and myself would be very grateful. A result like this would of course mean the possibility of cheating, etc, but perhaps if it could be hard-coded to use a seperate sizing matrice for different characters- ie. yoda, ewok, human, vader/desann size, then chewbacca - it would be an improvement into the game and would help to prevent cheating, if it were hard-coded, instead of using something just anyone could modify and use in a CFG file. oh well, just an idea, anyways.

Thank you guys

Sithlord-ii

MUHAHAHAHAHA
06-23-2002, 01:31 PM
I've looked through the code too, and even being a programmer, couldn't figure out what needs to be changed to get it working. I started a thread a few days ago about it..

http://64.246.44.70/~lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=63564

The bounding box is what someone said another Raven dev told someone to modify. *sigh* if only Raven would help out, lol.