PDA

View Full Version : Skin I made but can't get to work


White
06-24-2002, 05:12 AM
http://darksavior.net/~mrwhite/sith.jpg

well, thats a pic of my skin in several action poses, the skin works in game but i cant selevt it from the list, I have to pick it through the console, also the icon_default works in the hud, but doesnt show up in the skins list.

Anyone know what Im doing wrong? :confused:

BradFu
06-24-2002, 05:15 AM
Hey, that's pretty cool!

When you're trying to select your skin, are you joining a Multiplayer server? Try hosting one yourself, you should be able to use it (if it's pk3'd properly). Also make sure it's not using the same foldername as another skin, it could be being over-riden.

White
06-24-2002, 05:52 AM
Both when I host or Join there is simply no icon_default picture in the list of selectables, also it is in a different folder so no problems where either. As the icon_default works in the hud i'm asuming there's nothing wrong with that either. I' really lost on this one :(

Nanodagiardino
06-24-2002, 05:56 AM
Pretty Cool Skin! Too bad it's a reborn. Heheh, just kidding. Anyway if you don't have an icon, you won't be able to select your skin. Make sure your icon has the right name default_icon.jpg and is 256x256. Also, if your skin is badly pk3ed, you may have problems seeing it ingame. Make sure that the names of in the .skin file respect the naming convention.

BIG BOSS
06-24-2002, 11:53 AM
this might help. rename default_icon to default_icon_(name of char) and the default_model to default_model_(name of player) then make sure its under this folders in base model/player/nameofchar


hope this helps

White
06-24-2002, 02:36 PM
Well, the HUD image for the icon_default works and is the right resolution and all. I've also tried your method BIG BOSS but that weilded no results either. Also I tried making the name shorted but that made no difference either. I'm really lost here. I've compared my skin directory with other people's and compared their files to mine and it all seems to be ok, I really don't have a clue what I'm doing wrong. :(:confused:

BIG BOSS
06-26-2002, 08:18 AM
under your default_model file do the files match with the folder name of the char?
say the name of char is bob

this is how the set up should be under the models/players/bob
open the default_model.
things will read like torso/models/players/reborn/reborn_torso
make sure the the player file matches up under the default_model

like this, torso/models/players/BOB/reborn_torso

P.S. do not change the stormtrooper ones

White
06-26-2002, 01:38 PM
Well BIGBOSS thanks again for your help but that wasn't it either, I had that right too, I'm getting really confused by this.

here's the download link to the model, maybe someone can fix it and send it back or something.

http://darksavior.net/~mrwhite/sithsavior.pk3 (375kb)

Thanks in advance to anyone who tries, and thanks again BIG BOSS

BIG BOSS
06-26-2002, 03:33 PM
ok i got it to work, post your email and ill send it to you tomorrow

only reason im sending tomorrow is that I cant wait for your address email because im about to fall asleep its 3:30am ;P

White
06-27-2002, 09:43 PM
My email is winfred@gmx.net, many many thanks BIG BOSS, what was I doing wrong ?

legameboy
06-27-2002, 11:36 PM
nice skin you made white:)

BIG BOSS
06-28-2002, 12:55 AM
hey sorry white mail isnt working so, this is how you fiix it

open sithsavior remove the models/players/sithsavior to somewhere then remane default_icon to default_icon_sithsavior(this will make to icons) so close folder. then reopen and deleate the default_icon_sithsavior. then remake pk3 file and everything should work

P.S. sorry email doesnt work

White
06-28-2002, 03:12 PM
Ok, I'm confused, I followed your instructions to the best of my ability and tried several different ways but still none of them worked. Wonder what i'm doing wrong. Could you please still email it? There's no rush so whenever it works. Or maybe upload it on a website?

Many Thanks again

BIG BOSS
06-29-2002, 01:52 AM
ok used a friends mail and sent you the file. the file will be from ro406