PDA

View Full Version : Is anyone playing JKO on.....


Darth Kaan
06-25-2002, 08:16 AM
Windows 2000 pro? I would appreciate any input if you are. Thanks in advance!

Kaan

mInk3nine
06-25-2002, 08:45 AM
sure am....what kind of input are you looking for?

Emon
06-25-2002, 09:56 AM
Same here.

Darth Kaan
06-25-2002, 10:20 AM
I was just wondering if 2000 pro played JKO solidly and if it plays well with a GF4 Ti 4200 vid card. I really want to upgrade to 2k pro but dont want to lose the ability to play JKO.

Thanks for posting and for any further input. :)

Kaan

mInk3nine
06-25-2002, 10:34 AM
i know several who use a gf4 and win2k pro and they have no probs. i don't think you can get a more solid OS, aside from XP, but i can't say much cause i've never used XP. Anywayz, wink2k pro = good for JKO, no doubt.

Darth Kaan
06-25-2002, 10:56 AM
mInk3nine,

Thanks a lot for the insight and reply. I am gonna install 2000 pro and my new GF4 tommorow. :)

Kaan

Emon
06-25-2002, 11:02 AM
Oh, most certantly, it runs incredibly well. It's one of the supported OSs on the system requirments, in fact.

Tip of advice when upgrading to 2000 Pro:

Go to the Microsoft.com site and get all the updates for Win 2K Pro. This includes Service Pack 2, and the small security rollup packages. Also get the compatibility update, newest media player and newest version of IE (6 is much better than previous versions).

Without the compatibility update and the service pack 2, many of your games will run crappily or not at all. When you do have them, you can run as many games, if not more than XP can.

CreeP_303
06-25-2002, 11:08 AM
word up for the win2k.


it works beautifully...and i have a dying machine.

Deetox187
06-25-2002, 11:11 AM
Ya Win2k rulez all as far as i'm concerned, it sucked before the service packs but now it's just great.

screw XP.

crusher_khan
06-25-2002, 11:14 AM
I use Windows 2k Pro and have had a couple problems,but thats only because I didnt have the latest sound card drivers. When I got those the game ran smoothly. O yea I have an Athlon XP 2100+ Windows 2k Pro Epox 8k3a+ mobo and GF 4 Ti 4400.

Pedantic
06-25-2002, 12:16 PM
WIN2K rocks! 'Cept I don't use it for games. For games, I use WIN98SE.

Emon
06-25-2002, 01:18 PM
You should use it for games. I don't have one game I can't run on Win 2K Pro. Even Dark Forces runs.

mInk3nine
06-25-2002, 02:50 PM
Kaan, np, i'm sure you'll be pleased by its performance :)

Darth Kaan
06-28-2002, 12:38 AM
mInk3nine et all, thanks for all the input and encouragement. I have upgraded and Win2k + the GF4 card are the best upgrades I have ever invested in!

Win2k is indeed sweet and soooooo much beter than Win 98SE. :-)


Kann

Nhoj
06-28-2002, 01:08 AM
Win2k all the way. More compatible than NT and a hell of a lot more stable than Win9x and WinXP. I never have an issue with Win2k box in any way. I have an Elsa Gloria II graphics card that uses the GeForce 2 chipset.

Agen
06-28-2002, 01:34 AM
Dos games don't work, HIISSSSssss.
i use win 98 anyway.

WarteX
06-28-2002, 06:38 AM
With winXP u drop about 2 fps

Pedantic
06-28-2002, 06:43 AM
Originally posted by Emon
You should use it for games. I don't have one game I can't run on Win 2K Pro. Even Dark Forces runs.

I just kinda like to keep my gaming separate from my work. So if my gaming side goes bad I don't have to worry about my work side. I'll probably redo my OSes this summer, and during that time I might do two Win2Ks. :)

Kurgan
06-28-2002, 08:24 AM
Multi-boot is awesome (win98/98se + the others of your choice).

I ran JK2 on Win2k (only a Geforce2 gts though) worked great....