PDA

View Full Version : DAMN tags!!


Sniper Wolf
06-25-2002, 08:43 AM
Ah yes another topic that damns some part of the model making process. Balls to the walls!
Anyways, my problem is that once I've linked everything up until the hips, and I wanna link the hips to stupidtriangle_off, it won't let me and it says that it would cause a dependency loop. WHat did I do wrong and how can I fix it? Thanks in advance.
- Wolf :jawa

CheshireKat
06-25-2002, 08:50 AM
I got that too, I had to start over.

Sniper Wolf
06-25-2002, 08:54 AM
Another quick question:
Where are the mesh root and model root objects? Thanks again.
- Wolf :jawa

Sniper Wolf
06-25-2002, 08:57 AM
You had to start over by linking the objects again? ****ing balls! Are you serious?!
What did you do differently and how did it work?

Madjai
06-25-2002, 09:05 AM
linking isnt hard, you just goto edit/select by name/ and select all the things your going to link.

i think the mesh root and model root are located at 0,0,0
right below the model

Sniper Wolf
06-25-2002, 09:10 AM
Hey Madjai, thanks a whole bunch. I never tried it by doing selection by names, but that is a whole lot quicker! Manually it took me near to an hour to select everything, link it and then link to its parent root. Very helpful! Also, the stupidtriangle_off seems to have no dependency loop problems anymore for some reason, so the hips are connected there. Thanks for your help Chesire and Madjai.
- Wolf :jawa

SAIK HUAT
06-25-2002, 09:16 AM
Just link all the tags to one bone. e.g the pelvis. Simple

Madjai
06-25-2002, 09:23 AM
if you link all the tags to one bone they wont move with the proper part of your model...

CheshireKat
06-25-2002, 10:34 AM
They'll move properly, according to your weighting, but dismemberment wont work properly. You can link them simply to get it ingame for testing the weighting, then relink the heiarchy properly when you want.

oddjob: A-Team
06-25-2002, 10:26 PM
Here's a neat tip that makes the linking process MUCH easier: Link in the Schematic View. It is easier to pick each tag and mesh, and it makes finding the stupidtriangle_off and the mesh root, etc much easier. It also will make is so you can see what is causing that loop, prehaps making it so you can fix it without starting over.

SilentMobius
06-25-2002, 11:21 PM
Originally posted by SAIK HUAT
Just link all the tags to one bone. e.g the pelvis. Simple
Saik, you may well be a God... I _think_ you've just prompted me to understand what I've been doing wrong for the past few days.

Boooya.

Sniper Wolf
06-25-2002, 11:55 PM
Hey thanks everyone for the great tips here and there. I've finished tagging and weighting the bones and meshes. All I have to do is uvwmap it and then skin it. Look for my original character, Rendak, in about a week. Custom taunts, sounds, bot support and red and blue skins also will be included. Here's a few screenshots of what the model looks like:
http://www.villagephotos.com/extern/367194.jpg
http://www.villagephotos.com/extern/367193.jpg
http://www.villagephotos.com/extern/367192.jpg

Artic Blade
06-26-2002, 06:49 AM
sweet job man.

the only complaints i have are the scarf thingie and the coat seems too tight.

but seeing the relation between the model and your avatar, it obvious what your doing.

the scarf is ok, but you should really really loosen the coat man, let him breathe!

Oobedoob Benobi
06-26-2002, 10:14 AM
Wow that is amazing! I can't wait until I get my hands on this model! Nice job!

BobaFett7
06-26-2002, 10:25 PM
That is a very nice modeling job! You have so much detail and it looks absolutely amazing. I hope it will stay within a decent polygon count with all of that detail. Will you be creating LODs? If you haven't yet thought about it, I would definitely recommend that you consider making at least one lower LOD model - with that much detail it would be a shame to slow your game down when the character is halfway across the map.

Sniper Wolf
06-27-2002, 03:53 AM
Yes I will be creating 3 LODs for the model. It may take extra time but it will help significantly. Thanks for all your support.
- Wolf :jawa

MacD
07-03-2002, 09:17 AM
Actually, the best way to link stuff up is by just pressing 'h'.
Then you select all the elements you need, then hit the 'select' button.
Now you press the "link" button (to the right, on the toolbar, near the undo/redo buttons) after which you press 'h' again.
Then select the object you want to link it to, and press the 'link' button (where 'select' used to be :) ; remember, max is very context sensitive :) ). Done!