PDA

View Full Version : system specs


volrathxp
06-26-2002, 08:24 AM
seems everyone's been adding their system specs (i guess to show off or something) to their signatures.... while i feel this is odd to ask off-topic of the forum.... but i'm just curious about some of the specs of mapper's pcs. what are yours? mine are below:

1.2 GHz Athlon T-Bird
ASUS A7V333 Motherboard
512 MB PC2700 DDR 333
VisionTek Xtasy GeForce 4 Ti-4200
Hercules Game Theater XP
Primary HDD: 80Gb
Secondary HDD: 60 Gb
16x Toshiba DVD-ROM drive
24x/10x/40x LiteOn CD-RW Drive
OS: Windows 2000 Professional
Current resolution: 1600x1200

:p

Xcom
06-26-2002, 08:36 AM
p3 450 mhz
128 mb RAM
16 mb RIVA TNT
12 GB HD
Win98se
res: 1152x864
res in JK2 game: 640x480 with lowest settings (most of the time) :D

in other words

CRAP

but I'll be upgrading soon :)

The Truthful Liar
06-26-2002, 08:38 AM
hahahahh, Xcom - same here, except I upgraded ONE PART, my graphics card to 32MB :p :D

I will be getting a new pc soon... if I told you guys the specs on that one I'd shame every person alive...

;)

volrathxp
06-26-2002, 08:40 AM
tell tell tell :p

The Truthful Liar
06-26-2002, 08:47 AM
*cough*

well.. alrighty then.. I'm still unsure wether to go with Athalon or P4 but here's the scoop:

P4 Dual Processors (if athalon - it will be the 2400+ Dual when it comes out)
Next Gen 256MB Gfx Card (probably from ATI... or maybe Nvidia IF they beat ATI again)
120GB Hard Drive
3GB of DDR Corsair Ram
19" Monitor (not 21" :()

The usuals:
DVD Rom
CD/RW
Windows XP Pro
ehm.. etc etc etc

I'll be getting my PC sometime in early August :D

hopefully...

The Truthful Liar
06-26-2002, 08:57 AM
*ahem*

okay.. I'm feeling abit nervous having the only post on the top of the mapping forum list...

Move along... move along :D :D :D

Altimira
06-26-2002, 08:58 AM
uhhhhh i dont know what the hell half that stuff is, but heres what i do know i have...

AMD Duron Processor
807 Mhz
55 GB (one 15 GB one 40GB)
256 MB of RAM
ATI Radeon 8500
Microsoft XP HE

Drakewl
06-26-2002, 09:02 AM
i would say mine is average

p3 800 mhz (overclocked to 866)
MSI BX-Master 6163 V3
384 mb SDRAM 133
64 MB Geforce 2 Ultra
5 GB UW SCSI HD
80 GB Ata100 HD
Soundblaster Live 5.1 & Dolby 5.1 Surroundsystem
Win98SE and WinXP
Mainres: 1152x864
Gameres: 800x600 with all settings on

i will update my hardware next year probably, im looking forward to matured drivers for the upcoming cards geforce5 and radeon 9000 :)

Darth Knight
06-26-2002, 09:28 AM
1.8Ghz P4
64mb graphics card
512 ram
32x cdrw
120GB
XP HE

Manquesa
06-26-2002, 09:44 AM
P4 1.2
Win Me
80 GB Hd
256 MB Ram
Sounblaster live audio
Graphics uhh? , invidia geforce something or other (all I know is it's good)
1280 x 1024 res
20 inch monitor
Cable modem
DVD/CD-RW

Dell Dimension 8100 (still paying for it, till 2005)

Takeoffyouhoser
06-26-2002, 10:07 AM
Well, UP THE IRONS! stays in the sig. But, here's the specs for ya..

Amd Athlon 1.45 ghz
512 mb DDR ram
Nvidia Geforce 2 64 mb
40 gig Hd
Sprint DSL connection
Soundblaster live 5.1
Polk Audio AMR 150 or 170 5.1 SSspeakers w/ subwoofer

I got this custom made in January, I didn't want to spend alot so I just got something to play games with actually. got the whole deal for 1100 bucks...

volrathxp
06-26-2002, 10:15 AM
Originally posted by AB_Legion
*cough*

well.. alrighty then.. I'm still unsure wether to go with Athalon or P4 but here's the scoop:

P4 Dual Processors (if athalon - it will be the 2400+ Dual when it comes out)
Next Gen 256MB Gfx Card (probably from ATI... or maybe Nvidia IF they beat ATI again)
120GB Hard Drive
3GB of DDR Corsair Ram
19" Monitor (not 21" :()

The usuals:
DVD Rom
CD/RW
Windows XP Pro
ehm.. etc etc etc

I'll be getting my PC sometime in early August :D

hopefully...

two worda AB:

****IN SWEET!

ehhehe

TheDarkTrumpet
06-26-2002, 10:30 AM
Dual AMD MP 2000+ MB (1 processor right now)
1 gig DDR PC2100 RAM
16x CDRW (16x40x10)
50 GB HD (2 hard drives - dual booting windows XP and Linux)
ZIP/floppy/etc
ATI Radeon 8500 overclocked to about 300mhz on the GPU and about 300mhz on the RAM.

It's a good system, does what I want it to do. I plan on getting another CPU in possibly 1/2 a year to a year. Doing this mainly because my MOBO supports different speed processors as long as the FSB remains the same. 1 CPU does me fine now, and I wouldn't mind having an AMD MP 2500 or something high like that later to stick in here :) RAM is enough for me, 1 gig does everything I want. I may upgrade another gig later, the MOBO supports 3 gigs of RAM. heh, my computer is more for being a server / workstation than a desktop computer.


-TheDarkTrumpet
http://www.thedarktrumpet.com

Ah Boon
06-26-2002, 10:45 AM
ph34r mah pc!! :D

P4 1.8ghz
64mb GeForce2 mx400(i know, its sht but its still my first 3d card :D)
256mb DDR RAM
SB Live! Value
48x CD ROM
hp cd-writer cd-12 series
win xp HE
40gig HDD
Harmon Kardon l33t black speakers

Its a dell pc, so, its in a cool black cpu, monitor and EVERYTHING BLACK! :D plus 4 star wars mini models on my monitor :D :p

RichDiesal
06-26-2002, 01:33 PM
Well damn. You don't need all that.

I run on:
PIII-800EB
Asus P3V4x mobo
640mb PC133 Micron SDRAM
100GB HD (2 40GBs and 1 20GB)
Hercules 3D Prophet II GTS 64MB
S3 Virge 2MB (second monitor)
HP CD Writer 9310 (10x4x32)
Soundblaster Live
Altec Lansing ACS48s
running Windows 2000 Advanced Server

And boon, you really need to upgrade that vid card. I'd say your entire computer is probably being slowed down by it.

Jango_Fett91
06-26-2002, 01:49 PM
Bump Bump Bump..........................

FunClown
06-26-2002, 07:01 PM
1200MHz AMD T'Bird
Asus A7V 133 MoBo
256MB pc133 RAM
30gig HDD (5400RPM)
32MB GeForce 100/200 (Upgrading to either a 4200 or RV250 whichever cheapest and offers the most performance for my gaming dollar)
14" Monitor (Upgrading to a 17" Samsung DFX FlatScreen monitor same time as the vid. card. My monitor will be 5 years old then.
SB Live OEM
Sony 32x 8 x 4 CD Burner

Run 800 x 600 x 16 bit single player.

Practically all low in multi.

UniKorn
06-26-2002, 07:33 PM
Mapping PC :

Amd athlon 1600+
1 Gig Ram
100 gig hd

Mapping Compile PC :
Amd athlon 800
512mb ram (i think)
30 gig hd

Hubris
06-26-2002, 07:57 PM
750 Athlon
128 ram
Radeon piece of crap (nice for graphic work though.)

Haven't been able to play much of anything since I had to downgrade to this machine, so been playing Tribes 1 and CS, getting back to the ol' school. :eek:

Eagle_e7
06-26-2002, 10:12 PM
Here goes:D

Amd athlon 1ghz
384mb ram
sound blaster live
64mb geforce 2 gts pro
win98se
30gb hard drive
17 inch flatscreen moniter
dvd (cant remember the speed)
ASUS a7v motherboard

Theres more but thats all i can think of at the moment:D

Ah Boon
06-26-2002, 10:20 PM
Originally posted by RichDiesal

And boon, you really need to upgrade that vid card. I'd say your entire computer is probably being slowed down by it.

yah... i know... its pure sht but i have 2 live with it... im broke with 0 money and a better vid card would cost around RM$800+ :eek: :eek: :eek: gimme the money :D