View Full Version : I Wanna Know How To Learn To Skin....where Do I Start

06-26-2002, 09:34 PM
HI...i wanna learn how to skin for jediknight II...where do i get the programs..and are they free...and all the basic stuff i need to know...please help me..... :)

06-27-2002, 01:28 AM
You'll need an image editor that is able to read and save TGA & JPG images which you'll have to get on your own. Then you'll need the game editing tools, which are free. You can find them in several places across the web, here are just a few,...


Currently Unavailable*

If these sites don't work for you, just do a search on the web. There are probably many, many more sites where you can pick them up.

06-27-2002, 03:50 AM
would adobe photoshop work for the image program

06-27-2002, 04:10 AM
Yep. I think that's what most of us use. I'm using 4.x, but I think most of us use 5.x.

06-27-2002, 04:57 AM
ok so i got all the programs i need now is there a tutorial some where, where it gives me an sample model and tells me step-by-step how to skin it...

06-27-2002, 05:06 AM
Well... The first step is to unpack the stuff that you want to alter from your assets0.pk3 in the base folder. I'd recommend that you unload all of the models/players stuff. Be sure to let it keep the correct path. Now all of your stuff will be in <base/models/players folder. From there, you want to pick a character that you want to change, go into the textures for that particular character, and alter them. Let us know when you've done that and we'll give your further advice.

Also, you might want to pick up the program called pakscape (from file planet) and the jkii skins reference file (from jkii.net).

06-27-2002, 05:09 AM
If you need to, after you've done A LOT of stuff to your skin, pack it up, send it to me in an email telling me what you've done, and I'll throw it into a sample pk3 for you to look at (That's how I learned to alter the model_default.skin document).


06-27-2002, 06:24 AM
i tried to get the stuff from the assets0 file but it messed game up so what am i excactly looking for? do i somehow unpack it and all the stuff pops into a folder or what?:confused: :confused: :confused:

06-27-2002, 01:30 PM
Hmm... It depends on which program you're using. I'm using zipcentral. What I did was open assets0.pk3 in zipcentral, highlight all of the files labeled for the path models/players and click extract. It asked me where I wanted to extract it too and I told it to extract to c:/programfiles/lucasarts/jediknight/gamefiles/base (or something like that) and hit enter. It took about 5 mins to do it, but when it was done, I had a new folder called models, in which were literally dozens of folders, containing .skin, .glm,.jpg,.tga and other files. I don't know why that would have done anything to your game.

Try it again.

06-28-2002, 03:50 AM
but if this doesnt work its my fault:p

06-28-2002, 04:01 AM
now what

06-28-2002, 05:06 AM
I would say that your next step is to get modelviewer up and running. You can download it from jkii.net. I think its in the editing tools folder.

Aside from that... create a new folder in the folder models/players and name it whatever your character will be named... like... Ghangis. Then pick a guy (or gal) you'd like to edit and copy all of the items from that folder (like Chiss) into your folder (Ghangis) and start editing those jpegs in photoshop. I'd recommend not just pulling the files; copy them by holding the alt key and pulling them. Anyway... when you get that far, I'll coach you a little further. I won't be back till... tonight some time.

06-28-2002, 06:37 AM
modelviewer wont open the models i tried opening the kyle model, but it didnt let me:(

06-28-2002, 05:45 PM
What exactly did it say? Was it something about a humanoid file? If so, go back into assets0.pk3, find that file, and extract it to the correct path. It needs that file to operate correctly.

Kevin Katarn
06-29-2002, 12:48 AM
ok my problem is that im usin winzip... it can unzip .pk3 files. Know anywhere i can get a better program?

06-29-2002, 06:47 AM
I have had the same problem in the past but have learned that if you change the file extension from say(darthvader.pk3) to (darthvader.zip) you will then be able to use winzip to open the file. Just right click on the pk3 file and change its name to a .zip and it should work. I just tried skinning my first thing today so im learning too!!!!!!

06-29-2002, 06:59 AM
I'm using zipcentral from download.com... It's pretty good. For compiling a pk3, I recommend pakscape (from fileplanet.com?) But I recommend against changing file extensions, because every once in a while you get a double extension ending, like assets0.pk3.zip and it screws everything up. And it also won't let you play your jedi knight and you won't have any of that sabre-swinging goodness.

06-29-2002, 12:57 PM
I've posted a sticky thread with tutorials and enough info to get you started.