PDA

View Full Version : Help, DOS related.


JCronic
06-26-2002, 10:51 PM
I know this really is'nt JKII related but I need help with it in order to do something with editing JKII. Whenever I try to open a DOS program such as SOF2MAP, the window for it opens for a split second and dissappears and I dont get the chance to read the commands. How do I get it to stay open? Thank you.

Badakku
06-26-2002, 11:33 PM
just start the msdos- *hm, well, I only know the German word*. umm, start C:\windows\command.com and start sof2map under the appearing window.
I hope you know the basic DOS commands! If not, ask! :D

JCronic
06-26-2002, 11:36 PM
I kinda know the basic commands. But its a pain in the ass to type in all that stuff, especially if you get it wrong and gotta type it ALL over again.

Give me the german word, I'll translate it some how

Badakku
06-27-2002, 01:52 AM
it's MS-DOS Eingabeaufforderung, have fun with it! :D
Yeah, DOS is quite annoying sometimes but I think there's no other way to do what you want.

Jango_Fett91
06-27-2002, 07:08 AM
I like saying bump













































bump

RichDiesal
06-27-2002, 02:27 PM
You need to actually enter the command prompt before running DOS related programs, since programs like SOF2MAP take command line options (like -bsp, -vis, etc).

In Win3x, 9x, ME:
Start->Run... type "command"
In Win2k, XP:
Start->Run... type "cmd"

That will bring up the command prompt. Type whatever commands there you want. Make sure you issue CD commands to the directory you want (I assume JK2?) It might be easier (less to type anyway) to find out the 8 char version of each directory name (Instead of "star wars jedi ii blah blah blah" it'll just be starwa~1 or something similar)

You can find lists of all the dir names by typing "dir /p" in older Windows, or "dir /p/x" in 2K/XP.

If you need more help, find an MS-DOS manual. :p

Badakku
06-27-2002, 07:49 PM
yeah, command prompt is the word I've been searching for!! It should also be somewhere in your start menu. :D

Pedantic
06-27-2002, 08:06 PM
You could probably use Run, too. :) That way you can browse 'n' stuff. ;)

Darth Continent
06-28-2002, 10:55 PM
If you're running the program in a DOS window from within windows (I'm assuming it's an executable), then create a shortcut for the program. Right-click on the shortcut, and change the settings so it doesn't immediately close on exit. That way you'll get your DOS messages.