View Full Version : FPS Indications ?

06-27-2002, 09:40 PM
Does anyone know how to get the engine to show FPS for the purpose of debugging maps ?

06-27-2002, 09:47 PM
in the console type cg_drawFPS 1

06-28-2002, 01:12 AM
FPS is for the most part irrelevant. Use r_speeds 1 and r_showtris 1. :p

06-28-2002, 02:10 AM
1. Use "bind f1 cg_drawfps !" in your console, without the quotes. That will bind your F1 key (or whatever key you choose) to toggle the framerate on and off.

2. On the contrary, Rich. I believe r_speeds is for showing what the level will run with lots of effects and enemies drawn and such? Usefull during development, but there is no better performance indictator for a finished level than framerate.

06-28-2002, 03:07 AM
Enemies are reflected in r_speeds, as enemies have triangles too.

Effects must be thought of in development. Obviously, if you have lots of effects, your tri count must be low to make up for the performance hog that effects bring along.

Just because you run a tri count of 15,000 with 10 effects on the screen at 90fps doesn't mean anyone else will.