PDA

View Full Version : Diplomacy


crag
06-28-2002, 02:34 AM
Every game I play all the computer players gang up on me. Even the ones i agree to be netural with end up attacking me. So how to I condut diplomacy?

Crazy_dog no.3
06-28-2002, 02:45 AM
What difficulty are u playing on?

DashRendar
06-28-2002, 03:33 AM
Difficulty doesn't really matter, unless you're on easiest, then at least 1 will ally with you and at least 1 will be neutral.


If you want to be an ally with someone the best way is to make him the same Team Number as you. Team number is established by pressing the button at the very right of the Players strip when you're setting up a game.

crag
06-28-2002, 03:46 AM
< Difficulty doesn't really matter, unless you're on easiest, then at least 1 will ally with you and at least 1 will be neutral. />

So the computer players are always ganging up on you. I can stop them teaming up right? Actually I wouldn't mind it a few of them teamed up - but all of them?

Kryllith
06-28-2002, 05:32 AM
Yeah, setting the teams up at the beginning (and making it so teams can't break apart) is the easiest way to have a computer on your sad. Personally, I wish it was a bit more flexible, such as when you're wiping out a computer opponent then maybe it should offer to join you if you spare it. Or be able to suggest treaties with one, instead of just changing your stance towards them and hoping they'll get a clue.

One of the things I wish SWGB had is variable difficulty opponents in the same game. I'd like to take on 3 or 4 "very hard" opponents with a couple of "hard" allies.

Kryllith

Darth Windu
06-28-2002, 03:34 PM
Crag - if you are on hardest or hard, all of your allies will gang up on you. If you are on moderate, some might go against you, and some enemies might ally with you. The only way to stop it is to lock the teams.

WolfmanNCSU
06-28-2002, 09:20 PM
Yeah, despite what they say, the diplomacy in this game (and AoE/AoK) are not very good unless you are playing with diplomacy in multi. The only game with really good diplomacy that I have played is the Civilization series.

crag
06-28-2002, 11:13 PM
Alpha, Centuri, Civ II & III are great games Another great game with excellent diplomancy is Space Empires IV. So far, the diplomancy in Battlegrounds is worhtless. Why even waste the effort?

Sithmaster_821
06-30-2002, 07:44 AM
When playing single player in this game, you have to lock teams or else the computer will turn on you. Its a real pain in the @$$ when you're making a scenerio though. Alliegence switching triggers require lock teams to be off and anything above moderate your allies turn on you. It was put in the original AoE and AoE2 so that the ai didnt have to cheat to be hard.