PDA

View Full Version : Two SP NPC Questions...


Stan_Tencza
06-28-2002, 04:43 AM
Hey folks:

Two questions regarding NPC's in single player.

1.) How do you change an NPC's saber color? For example, what I've done is put Obi-Wan in place of the regular Jedi NPC. However, his lightsaber is an unsightly yellow... how do I change Jedi's saber color from yellow to blue?

2.) Is there any known way to import the double-sided saber into SP (for NPC's?) I'm planning to make an Episode 1 NPC Pack, and Darth Maul is very unauthentic without the double saber. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

-Stan
==-=-==-=-==-=-==-=-==-=-==-=-==-=-==

Joben
06-28-2002, 07:15 AM
the stuff your looking for is in npcs.cfg which is in the ext_dat folder.

That file allows you to configure many things about all the npcs including saber color.

Since youve already done some changes im assuming you know how to get into a PK3...:)

Stan_Tencza
06-28-2002, 12:25 PM
Joben...

I've changed the saber color option in the NPCS file, but it doesn't change anything in the SP game. I thought maybe there was some other place to edit that information?

Thanks.

garak88
06-29-2002, 01:16 AM
Changing the NPCS.CFG should work, but sometimes the game doesn't recognize the changes if the altered file name is the same. For instance I have my NPCS.CFG under the standard name stuff.pk3, but everytime I change the NPCS I rename it to stuff1, etc... so the game recognizes it. Otherwise the game seems to assume that there haven't been any changes made and doesn't read the modifications.

Harukaze
06-29-2002, 06:39 AM
The game isn't smart enough to "assume" anything.

And as far as we all know, there is no known to use the double sided lightsaber in SP. While I hesitate to use the word impossible, since we none of us know what surprises might be burried deep in SP code, I can say with great certainty that no one here knows how to use the Maul saber in SP. Sorry!

Cyborg13
06-29-2002, 10:38 AM
Actually if you type in the console "Devmap" and the singleplayer map name (just like you do in multiplayer). Then turn your saber off and type \thedestroyer in the console you will get a double blade...

Darth Continent
06-29-2002, 03:30 PM
Of course, that also eliminates all your other weapons except for the bryar pistol. I'm not sure if it affects your force powers.

Then again, if you do it at the start of the game, it should not matter.

Killing's too easy with the double-bladed saber...

Darth Continent
06-29-2002, 11:33 PM
Forget it -- the devmap mapname trick doesn't work in single player. At least, not with attempts to get a dual-bladed saber. I just tried it, and remember trying it before, with no success. :evil6:

Joben
06-30-2002, 11:56 AM
Well i donno...i have the reborn all using diff color sabers just fine.

Make shure you used valid colors, that all the files are in the proper places, blah blah blah...etc etc.

Darth Continent
07-01-2002, 07:56 PM
Do you mean you've also managed to get the double-bladed saber to work in single-player?