PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Npc.cfg


Yodadude420
06-29-2002, 05:34 AM
How come when I edit a NPC's saber color in the .cfg file and then put it back in the assets0.pk3 file it doesn't change anything?

Emon
06-29-2002, 10:27 AM
Well, you should NEVER modify assets0.pk3 to begin with, because it'll royally fook up your SP and MP, you'll have to either revert your changes or recopy the file from your CD.

Try putting it in another PK3, then putting it in a folder like Jedi Outcast\GameData\ModName, and then load the mod from the menu in SP.

Joben
06-30-2002, 02:08 AM
yeh. first off the proper way to do that sorta thing is to make another pk3 file
and put nothing in it but the stuff you want to modify (in their proper folders)
so in this case you would want a pk3 with the ext_data folder with npcs.cfg inside.

I think pk3s are just renamed zip files im not shure...
I use WindowsCommander that lets you view compressed stuff like normal
folder...so i just generaly make a copy of a pk3, rename it, take out the stuff
i dont need and drop in the stuff i do.

Emon
06-30-2002, 07:02 AM
I use PakScape for making and viewing PK3s. It's much easier than WinZip because lets your browse through directory structure instead of just look at all the files spilled out. Do a Google search for it, you need version .11 or higher for JO.