PDA

View Full Version : Help with my skin!


bleek
06-30-2002, 02:25 AM
I want to know if anyone would be so kind as to help me with my skin. I haven't started yet but I want to make a skin and then email it to someone to help me make it work ingame. Then it would be great if that person could explain what that did from where I finished and sent it to them ....to what that did to make it work in the game.

bleek
06-30-2002, 02:26 AM
errr.....guess I was out of it......those "that" words should be "they"

Plasmacoolant
06-30-2002, 10:11 PM
Bleek....:rolleyes:

I offered to do this for you a while back on one of the other threads you had started.

End you suffering and quest to fix your skin once and for all and send it to me at plasmacoolant@hotmail.com. ;)

Please note that hotmail has a space limit so if your .zip or .pk3 is too large I may not receive it.

If so, just email me a blank email and I will send you my main email address where you can send it. I don't want my main personal email on the boards thats the reason for not giving it to you here.

-Plas...............

bleek
07-01-2002, 12:35 AM
I sent you a new skin I made. I didn't rename anything or do anything to mess with it besides just changing what it looks like. Hopefully you can do that for me :D . Thanks for your help.

Plasmacoolant
07-01-2002, 02:23 AM
Hey Bleek,

It is not in my mail box, the file must be too big or something must be going on with hotmail.

Anyway please send it to my other email address at;

-deleted

I'll delete my email from this post after I get your file.



-Plas

bleek
07-01-2002, 06:00 AM
Sent you the skin.....sorry would of sent it sooner but was away almost all day at the movies :D .

Everyone go see MINORITY REPORT!

bleek
07-01-2002, 07:01 AM
I've been trying very hard to get the skin to work...by myself :eek: . I might be doing it right ...or I might not be. I think that the problem is the paths. I get all of the stuff to have a path of:(the name)\ instead of: models/players/(the name) ?
Is that something that would mess up the skin and cause it not to work :) . If so, how can I correct that?

bleek
07-01-2002, 07:03 AM
woops.....damn sad face.....
I get a path of (the name)\ instead of models/players/(the name)

How do I fix that....if that is the problem?

Plasmacoolant
07-01-2002, 12:11 PM
Ok Bleek,

I tested the file and it works.

I'll write an explaination of what I did and post it by tomorrow.

Screenshot:
http://plasmaskins.jediknightii.net/miscelaneous/shot1.jpg

-Plas

gt r?
07-01-2002, 12:15 PM
Plasma your link dont work :D

Plasmacoolant
07-01-2002, 12:18 PM
Evil,

refresh your page and try the link again. I was just fixing the link when you posted.


-Plas

bleek
07-01-2002, 12:32 PM
kewl thx....bleh now that you see it ingame I see things that i dun like too much about it lol:o .

Great thing is I actually got it to work in the game....sorta.
I don't understand...the icon was there and everything...when I picked the skin everything was perfect.....
The torso was on the legs, hips, arms........but the hat was still the normal one from the original skin and so was his collar.
Oh well I'll read your thing and try to figure it out. Thanks a lot!


Yeah... and keep in mind when you look at that screenshot....that is really the first skin I have ever made...for any game ;) . And also I meant for that one thing ....by his crotch...area...to be in the back part....oh well....I'm not use to the lay out of the parts when you edit them.

Oh yeah....:D if you guys thought that skin..was decent ...now that I'm a bit better on what to do, I have started a new skin. Galak is one of my fav doods in the game so I'm tryin to make a younger version of him with better clothes :rolleyes: .

Plasmacoolant
07-01-2002, 12:43 PM
I may have missed the hat (head) part of the .skin file.

I'll take another look at it when I write that stuff for you a little later and fix it if theres a problem.


-Plas :)

bleek
07-01-2002, 12:50 PM
It worked...everything. Thanks for getting it together for me. Wish I hadn't screwed up the light and dark areas on his hips :p and the little design on the back of his hat:mad: . Everything else on him seems to have worked out decently for me working blindly :cool: .

Plasmacoolant
07-01-2002, 08:16 PM
Ok I will try and explain this as simply as I can, without confusing you. I have started from the beginning so If you already know some of this skip what you know.

-------------------------
The main tools you will need for the best skinning are;

1. PAKSCAPE - This is a compression tool for making .pk3 files. You can make .pk3's by renamin a .zip, however it is much easier to work with pakscape directly because the directory structure is plainly shown to you as if you were not working in a compressed folder at all.

http://dl.fileplanet.com/dl/dl.asp?maldavria/pakscape/pakscape-011.zip

2. ModView - this tool is included in the Jedi Knight 2 tools which were released. Install the tools and you will have modview along with other tools for level building and stuff, however for skinning models you only need to worry about ModView.

The JK2 editing tools can be found at;

http://www.jediknightii.net/files/index.php?link=file&id=145

3. A good graphics program, like Photoshop. Since you already have made skins I assume you have a program and I will not discuss this further unless you have a question.

-------------------------

Now, once you have these tools, choose a model to edit. Unpack the assets0.pk3 file in your base directory. If you use PakScape this is simple because the directory structure is all displayed in front of you. Just go to models/players/ and choose the folder with the character you want to edit.

Do not remove or add files to assets0.pk3 or the game may be affected. If you make a change do not save.

-------------------------

Don't worry about making a .zip or .pk3 yet make your skin first.

-------------------------

Now ModView is a model viewing program. By opening the models .GLM file in ModView you can see the skinned model as you are skinning it. As you edit the skin in your graphics program you can save, go to modview and refresh the view and you can see your changes immediately.

There are some setup steps for modview before you can get the model in there;

1. All the programs in the jedi knight ii tools work from the directory in which the game is installed. If you installed the tools go to the base directory you will see a sub directory named models, go into that and there is another named players, into that is where you will place your character for skinning.

But not yet. You will notce a directory named _humanoid with no files in it.

2. All the player models in JKII use the same animation sequences and control file. These two files must be installed first before a model will work in modview.

Open the assets0.pk3 file in your base directory and go to models/players/_humanoid

In this directory you will find the two files you need.

_humanoid.gla and animation.cfg

Take these two files and put them into the _humanoid directory.

All that is left to do is place the model you are editing into the models/players directory and open the model.glm file with ModView.

You will now see the model in the window skinned with whatever skins the .skin files are pointing to.

If you have taken a model directly from the assets0.pk3 for example Jan, then because all her skin files are already linked to her textures she should show up without any alterations to the .skin files

-------------------------

After you have the textures how you want them that is when you should think about making a .pk3, changing the name of the model and altering the .skin files.

At least until you understand exactly what you are doing .

-------------------------

File structure

When making a .pk3 you must first understand what you are trying to do.

You are trying to add or replace files within the game to add to or change the game.

Every model, texture, script anything you place in a .pk3 and into the base directory is read by the program when it is starting up and that alters the game.

- Overwriting files.

The .pk3 file structure duplicates the folder arrangement in the assets0.pk3, assets1.pk3, assets3.pk3 files.

By placing files in the same directory arrangement we can put in a different file with the same name and have it overwrite a file in the assets files in the same position. This does not delete the file only causes the program to load our files instead of the games originals.

To avoid overwriting the games structure you can make up a new name for a model when repacking it.

That is why I renamed the imperial to a name not used in the game, making it a unique model and not overwriting the original imperial.

At this point open the imperial2.pk3 I altered for you and check out the way I have set out the folders.

Besides what you sent me this is what I altered;

1. Added the proper directory structure (You should be able to see this when opening the file)

2. Added the botfile, imperial.jkb which I took from the assets0.pk3. The file was in the botfiles directory. With whatever model you choose to edit, find the appropriate botfile.

3. Changed all the .skin files to point to the textures;

For example all I did was change the imperial link to imperial2 because that is what I called the new model.

(Original) hips,models/players/imperial/boots_hips.tga

to

(New) hips,models/players/imperial2/boots_hips.tga

4. The most important file is the bot file in the scripts folder. The bot file will tell the game that the model is a unique character.

The bot file I included was

{
name "imperial2"
model Imperial2
color1 4
personality /botfiles/imperial.jkb
}


It is pretty straight forward the name is the name that will appear when choosing the model.

Model tells the game the name of the model

Personality points to the .j2k botfile which controlls the models attributes, dialogue e.t.c.

If you do not have the bot file, your icons do not appear in game, or your player may be given a default model like Kyle or Jan.

----------------------

-Plas

bleek
07-01-2002, 09:58 PM
Thx for your help...just got one question about model viewer. When I try to look at my skin it keeps saying that it couldn't read one of the jpg things. Then when it opens up the skin is just plain white :( .


I started a new skin and it worked this time around....thx..I didn't have model viewer before...should be a big help

Plasmacoolant
07-02-2002, 12:07 AM
ModView is much easier than loading the game every time you wanna see your skin updates.

The reasons for textures not showing could be that they are not where the .skin file says they are. Or the image file is damaged, or saved at a too high quality.

I opened up you imperial skin and it is all working fine for me in modview, if that is the model you could not see the textures on.

Sometimes you get pop-ups saying that it cant find textures, these are usually eyes, caps and stuff.

The Jan model for example has Kyles eyes so the .skin file is linked to the Kyle folder. In this case the Kyle folder must also be present for the eyes to work, or you can take the eyes and put them in the jan folder then re-link the section relating to eyes in Jan's .skin files to Jan instead of Kyle.

Just remember if you alter a skin from a model in the game and then rename it, you must also go and change the links in the .skin files to point to the newly named skins.

I hope I am helping not confusing you.

-Plas

bleek
07-03-2002, 05:28 AM
Well, I got the skin to work with your help:monkey4: .

When you were talking about the bot's personality...where did you get the script thing for it? A bot didn't work for me.
Also, how do you take screenshots :p :p :p ?