PDA

View Full Version : Cable modem question(don't move mods)


Pada-Wan
07-01-2002, 07:30 PM
First off, let this post be here. because this forum has a ton of more activity then the swamp. so after this gets 10+ replies, please move it THEN. thanks :)

onto my q:

the company says its $55 for installtion and $45 a month. But my friend said that if i buy a ehernet(sp) chip(i THINK its a e chip) i can have them install that for $55, BUT only pay $35 a month because i supplied my own chip. is this possible? thanks

Mercen4ry
07-01-2002, 07:51 PM
Chances are what you're talking about is not an "ethernet chip," but rather, a NIC card to your machine. Since I'm trying to get certified in this area job-wise, here's what I have to say:

Yes. Assuming your friend isn't lying (no offense, but I don't know your friend :) ), it is cheaper to supply your own Ethernet NIC Card (NIC standing for Network-Interface Card. I take that back, just by the speed of progress these days it could very well be a chip. :p ) than having to effectively "rent" one from the company. The easiest place to find a NIC card would be Best Buy, Gateway (if you aren't too ticked about the contest :cool: ), CompUSA, etc.

Merc out. :fett:

Pada-Wan
07-01-2002, 08:46 PM
do all comps enable this chip to be installed?

usually how much are these chips

can ya please recommend me one?

merc out :jango:

:)

Mercen4ry
07-01-2002, 08:59 PM
Hehe... Yes, unless your computer was made in the stone age, it should be able to take a NIC card, provided you have a free slot in your motherboard.

They usually run around $15 for the basic models (100/10 mbps I/O), but that number is off the top of my head, so don't hold me to it. I would recommend you buy a LinkSYS one - they're usually better than ones from third world companies you've never heard of. :)

Merc out. :fett: (My sig! :D )

Mallakai
07-01-2002, 09:27 PM
That's a harsh deal. I cant imagine a company charging $10 a month to rent a nic card when you can buy one at wal-mart for $15. Maybe there's some confusion. I know a lot of companies take $10 bucks off the monthly bill if you also have cable tv with them..but that's prob unrelated to this.

Mercen4ry
07-01-2002, 09:46 PM
Well, right now I'm just going on the information given to me. Who knows what high-up company execs think? I surely don't. :p

Darth Kaan
07-01-2002, 10:53 PM
Thats weird, I have cable and use roadrunner who supplied the NIC card and cable modem when I signed up over a year and a half ago, they installed/setup for free and I have paid one price for unlimited service everymonth since. There was never any charges except for the monthly service.

If you have more than one cable modem provider, shop around. $10 a month charge for a NIC card is rediculas.

Kaan

Lord Nodata
07-01-2002, 11:09 PM
I think another issue here is the rental fee for the cable modem itself. I know that roadrunner will "supply" you with a NIC and a cable modem, and you pay the rental fee for the MODEM, but if you cancel your service, you keep the NIC. Perhaps that's what he means?

Nobodi Kenobi
07-02-2002, 01:29 AM
I have AT&T cable - Now ATT Broadband Internet once they filed backruptcy - And the deal I got was that:

A) Your computer HAD to already have an NIC card in it or they wouldn't install it (along with other minimum system requirements)...

B) The monthly fee is $32 for 9 months and then $45 after the special introductory period.

C) I can reduce that $45 fee by BUYING my own Cable Modem - Since I am renting their's - Thus, making it be $35 a month.

Cable modems are so cheap these days ($95-$120) that I will probably just invest in one and return AT&Ts as it will make back the difference (the price of the modem) in less than two years which is a bargain considering I don't ever intend to go back to dial-up again. Period :)

Pada-Wan
07-02-2002, 08:25 AM
thats the company im gonna get. att broadband. its the only one availible to me. i dunno if i have a NPC card installed already :(


plus wat cable modem do u have?

OnlyOneCanoli
07-02-2002, 08:57 AM
Believe me, Yoda's Swamp gets more than enough traffic to answer your question. It actually gets more posts per day than the Valley, I believe.

To find out if you have an NIC, go to your device manager (go to the desktop, right click on My Computer, go to Properties, and find the Device Manager), and look to the right of the little + signs. If one of those says "Network Adapter," then you have an NIC; if you don't have those words, then you don't have an NIC. If you don't have one, you can get them really cheap from just about anywhere. Installing it is quite simple as well, just follow the directions you get with it.

Pada-Wan
07-02-2002, 09:41 AM
accton en1207d series PCI fast ethernet adapter
NDIS 1394 Net Adapter



those are the only 2 that i have, besides the dial up ones under network adaptors. So, what do i need to do now? buy a cable modem, and have them install it? or i can "borrow" one and pay $45 instead of $35?

sorry, im not too good at this :(

OnlyOneCanoli
07-02-2002, 10:06 AM
They look good to me.

Now buy you'd have to buy a cable modem. I'm not sure what type or brand to get, as I've never researched them, but saving $10 a month sounds like a good deal to me. You can have them hook it all up for you, but it isn't difficult at all to do yourself. Considering they'll probably come to your house to set up your account, just ask them then to set everything up for you.

Pada-Wan
07-02-2002, 10:24 AM
Thanks a lot :)

Chastan
07-02-2002, 12:03 PM
Originally posted by OnlyOneCanoli
They look good to me.

Now buy you'd have to buy a cable modem. I'm not sure what type or brand to get, as I've never researched them, but saving $10 a month sounds like a good deal to me. You can have them hook it all up for you, but it isn't difficult at all to do yourself. Considering they'll probably come to your house to set up your account, just ask them then to set everything up for you.

I've heard the best ones are the General Instruments/Motorola (merged) Surfboard series. (SB3100/SB4100). RCA not so good supposedly. Don't know about the Toshibas.

Yes the Accton is a network card, the plug on the back looks like a phone jack only it is a bit wider (has eight pins instead of four).

OnlyOneCanoli
07-02-2002, 12:09 PM
Yes, I was given a SurfBoard SB4100 by my ISP for my cable service. Works fine for me.

Raven_Xwing
07-02-2002, 12:33 PM
Some companies let you buy your own cable modem then charge you around ten dollars less a month for using your own. The extra ten dollars a month is for renting ther cable modem.!
As was posted before you can buy a nic card for around 10-20 bucks anywhere.

Pedantic
07-02-2002, 01:43 PM
Actually, if you shop around, you can probably get a NIC for $5. :) Anyway, I have a Toshiba modem, and it works perfectly. From what I've heard, they're supposed to be the best. Heheh, although, I got this link (http://www.computers4sure.com/product.asp?productid=98275) from my dad. Might be worth checking out. ;)

Pada-Wan
07-02-2002, 06:01 PM
thx for all ur help guys! im going to contact att broadband today, and report back with the (hopefully good) results!