PDA

View Full Version : Transparent lattice


Erazer
07-02-2002, 03:08 AM
Greetings
Well, I've got a problem with a texture. I wanna build a transparent lattice on which you can walk. Just as in duel_bay!
How can I do it?
From upon the lattice I can't see through it and from under it I can completely see through it :confused:
what have I done wrong?
Im using a Caulk-Brush with a "cairn/c_gfoor" texture on it!
Anyone here that can help me?
Thx Erazer

Derisor
07-02-2002, 03:31 AM
Well. You have to texture both sides of the brush if you want it to be seen from under as well as over. Rembmer the engine only draws the face of the brush, not the entire thickness.

As for seeing through it, you need a picture with an alpha channel which is the transparency. I believe you will need to use a tga file for this as I dont think the engine supports gifs and jpgs dont have transparency.

Erazer
07-02-2002, 03:45 AM
well, look at duel_bay. its deffinitive just one side textured. and you can watch through it?


does anyone perhaps know, if theres a prog converting bsp-files to map-files?

Catscratch
07-02-2002, 06:00 AM
its a normal brush using a shader. i've made that one before. I dont remember the shader's name. hmmz. I'll look for that.

Catscratch
07-02-2002, 07:24 AM
found that. It's a different shader. not completely transparent.

imp_mine/grating

thats the name of the shader.

RichDiesal
07-02-2002, 07:43 AM
Originally posted by Derisor
Well. You have to texture both sides of the brush if you want it to be seen from under as well as over. Rembmer the engine only draws the face of the brush, not the entire thickness.

As for seeing through it, you need a picture with an alpha channel which is the transparency. I believe you will need to use a tga file for this as I dont think the engine supports gifs and jpgs dont have transparency.

You do need to texture both sides with the shader, but the alpha channel has nothing to do with actual graphic transparency. The engine determines transparency by white and black texturing in the alpha channel jpeg/tga.

Emon
07-02-2002, 10:02 AM
Yeah, all the saber textures are alphaed and they are JPEGs.