PDA

View Full Version : I wanna help


Leadthumb
07-02-2002, 07:57 PM
BOOYA! ive maid all kinds of badass maps for counterstrike,but worldcraft sucks dick so i wanna make levels for this game cause also it owns so much. But what programs are there to use and where do i get them.... and if its world craft again at least i know the program.... sigh

Serious_SaM
07-02-2002, 08:11 PM
Lol, its NOT Worldcraft, it's radiant, get it on any official JK2site, but you'll be one of those guys crying back for worldcraft after you took a look into radiant :p

Have fun with it

DukeSkywalker
07-02-2002, 09:31 PM
*lol*

i started my mapping-carrier (:D ) with JK2Radiant...

I think it's very simple... and the screenies of Worldcraft looked very complicated...

RichDiesal
07-03-2002, 05:08 AM
Go to http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com/tutorials/

Go through every tutorial from Lesson 1... it will step you through getting the necessary tools (with links), installing them correctly (because yes, it's easy to screw up the install), and building working maps.

Wes Marrakesh
07-03-2002, 05:16 AM
I TRIED worldcraft for half-life and it totally sucked. I could barely do a room right! Now i'm happily mapping away in simple JK2Radiantand i'm working on my first level and (:cool: )PEOPLE ACTUALLY WANNA PLAY IT! :lol: !!:rolleyes:
P.S. RichDiesal's Tutorials rock! They are very good and i learned with them.

Leadthumb
07-03-2002, 05:37 AM
Well can someone give me a link to download it?

Wes Marrakesh
07-03-2002, 05:52 AM
richdielsals tutorials, part one has a link i think
hey... link/think? a rhyme :cool:...
nm :lol: what am i saying???

RichDiesal
07-03-2002, 05:55 AM
Originally posted by Leadthumb
Well can someone give me a link to download it?
...it will step you through getting the necessary tools (with links)...
:)

Leadthumb
07-05-2002, 01:54 PM
OMFG

You were right Serious_Sam, i just want to kill myself now....
DAMN YOU RADIANT!
its just worldcraft only less easy. Its nothing big, just a lot of little thing like HAVING to hold shift just to select something.....

Oh and how can i forget YOU ONLY GET ONE GRID CAM WHYYYYYY!
Name one other modeling program with one camera besides bryce... go ahead i dare ya! (well programs worth using)

And dont any one say "but what about the 3D cam" because it would just anger me so much i'd, I'D.... no must think happy thoughts....

Oh well ill get used to it, i guess im gonna have to if im gonna have the patients to make a map of the red dragon base from cowboy bebop.:D

RichDiesal
07-06-2002, 12:38 AM
...actually, you can still get all three 2D views if you really want them... although you don't actually need to see in more than one view at any one time really. I suppose if you have trouble visualizing in 3D when you can't actually see all 2D views simultaneously, it might create a problem. :p

And Radiant is much easier to use than Worldcraft in the long-run - you're just resistant to change. ;) (Damn humans!) I can put together a good (and decent-sized) map in about 10 minutes, now that I know what I'm doing. :D

Scripting such a map is a different story, but still... :p

Wes Marrakesh
07-06-2002, 12:45 AM
:eek:geeze man calm down. Shift select is better because it helps you against accidentally selecting things and general blunderness.
you don't need more than one 2d cam aat a time, it just confuses you, and the 3-d cam is better than worldcraft's.
Geeze, sounds like someone needs to do gettin rid of extreme laziness exercises...

Leadthumb
07-08-2002, 02:04 PM
wes....

i dont care if you think im lazy but controlling the 3D veiw with the mouse is so much more efficient, that i cant beleive someone could think otherwise...

Leadthumb
07-08-2002, 02:10 PM
Oh and if having 3 2D veiws open at the same time is confuses you than i just feel for you

and rich, its not about visualizing the 3 demensions its about not having to change my veiw every second or two.