PDA

View Full Version : 3D Studio Max Question


Nemesis731
07-07-2002, 08:25 AM
Well I been learning how to model ( I can make a pretty good lightsaber now!) and as newbish as this may sound I was wondering how do I figure out the polycount of my model? If someone could anwser this for my I would appreciate it. Thanks.

BradFu
07-07-2002, 08:26 AM
Go to View or Edit, can't remember which, you should see a Properties at the bottom. In the properties window, the poly count is up near the top on the left.

Nemesis731
07-07-2002, 08:30 AM
is it faces?

Twisted Vertex
07-07-2002, 08:36 AM
yes..and keep an eye on the vertices also. Your not allowed more than 1000

WAR_BlindSkater
07-07-2002, 08:37 AM
Click on the untilities menu (The button with the hammer)
Click on the more button and look for Polygon Counter
Click it and it will open up a window it will tell you the amout of polys in the whole scene. If you select and object it will tell you the amout of polys in that object.

(I use 4 I don't know if this will work for other versions if you still dont understand I will try to write this out a bit better I am in a hurry :D)

Nemesis731
07-07-2002, 08:41 AM
Ok I got it. Thanks for the help. I'm guessing 2544 polys for a lightsaber is too much right? :D

Klorel
07-07-2002, 11:42 PM
way too much. it should be around a 1000 max, or so i've heard on other threads. still i'd like to see a pic of it before you make it 40% the origional poly count (just to see what a 2000+ poly saber looked like) Unless all those polys were just used to make it more cylindrical and not in intriquite detail.

Nemesis731
07-08-2002, 12:04 AM
They were just used to make it rounder. And I had a sphere in there too. I just deleted it and decided to start over.