PDA

View Full Version : 56k work ok with jk2?


Ruanek
07-08-2002, 02:21 AM
Hey,
I have a friend who refuses to get the game due to the fact that he has 56k and thinks the game will run very crappy in multiplayer. Is it really that bad or does it run ok with a 56k?

SUPERLEN
07-08-2002, 02:24 AM
He,he. You could play online with 56k, but why would you want to? You'd just be one of those players with crappy ping always timing out or phasing all over the place. One word: CABLE. Get it. Nuff said. :)

Kstar__2
07-08-2002, 03:29 AM
i dont think 56k6 is too bad, with some minor adjustment (not IE open and stuff) and with a good machine, you can play just fine i think, well, i'm not shure, i play with adsl (hahahahaha, o sorry)

dimi30
07-08-2002, 04:22 AM
Well I got an ISDN 64k and it runs fine(even though ISDN has lower pings than 56k). I think it should be fine on a 56k.

XERXES
07-08-2002, 04:39 AM
playing online with 56k isnt that great, i remember the best game that worked with 56k was starcraft, but that was a long time ago...cable rocks

NerfYoda
07-08-2002, 04:43 AM
Theres always things you can do to try and increase your dalup performance. Unless youre ISP really blows their tech support dept may be able to help you. Even with an optimized dialup acct your friend will only have a good time on a handful of servers.

Ruanek
07-08-2002, 05:42 AM
Thanks for the replies..Glad i have cable lol...i'll try to convince my friend to get it.

Drakar
07-08-2002, 08:16 PM
One of my friend has a 56k and as long as he plays on servers inside his country he gets the same ping as i (30-50) and i got ADSL 704/128 ......

So tell ur friend its okay ;)

JandoFett1842
07-09-2002, 06:51 AM
U can play, but u cant host. I have Cable, and i cant host because i have a stupid network PIECE OF ****!!!!

Agen
07-09-2002, 06:58 AM
I gotta 56k and as long as you get Q-Tracker or The all Seeing eye to get decent servers, it's works fine. msot of my pings are around 250 and i don't lag or warp or anything, jsut the same as you would with a cable modem (palyed both) everything is the same except dfa issues (lags a bit and doesn't hit where itl ooks liek it is) otherwise works perfect with me :)

Kurgan
07-09-2002, 07:27 AM
If you have a 56k, don't even bother hosting... just play LAN games or join FAST dedicated servers if you can.

Your best bet is always to pick the lowest ping servers closest to you, with the best hardware and connections.

Marvelous*
07-09-2002, 07:36 AM
He,he. You could play online with 56k, but why would you want to? You'd just be one of those players with crappy ping always timing out or phasing all over the place. One word: CABLE. Get it. Nuff said


its actually not just the modem that affects the ping, its your area aswell,
and your network traffic of your isp. do not be mis-lead into thinking that all dial players are laggers, sure a lot are, but your genralising.

i have 56K dial up, i never get any lag or connection interrupt or anything,
my usual ping is between 80 and 120, which is fine for what i need.

HellFyre69
07-09-2002, 10:23 AM
I used to play jk2 with 56k... It seemed fine... I dun think there was a diff with my cable connection now, and 56k.. i find both the same 150 ping and 56 ping

Midgit Yoda
07-09-2002, 10:49 AM
Originally posted by XERXES
playing online with 56k isnt that great, i remember the best game that worked with 56k was starcraft, but that was a long time ago...cable rocks
Yes. Finally another ex-Starcraft Junkie lol. I played that online so many times it's not even funny lol.

Beefotron X
07-09-2002, 10:53 AM
I play 56k, and I have AOL.

I find that the game is playable most of the time, just try to keep by these rules.

Don't go into games with a lot of players. Experiment and find out how many players you can handle. I can handle games with 12 players, but probably not much more.

A ping of 400 or less is usually playable. If you start being jerked around by the lag, phasing all over the place, your best bet is to log off and reconnect, preferably with a different phone number if possible.

If you are lagged to hell, the most polite thing to do is to remove yourself from the game. Don't worry, the JK2 world is big enough that you probably won't get a reputation.

aazell
07-09-2002, 08:24 PM
Well I'm in the UK.

It's sh*t so what's my options.

Cable modem only in certain area's and of course not in mine.

ASDL for $75 a month. OW! can't afford that.

56k with All seeing eye - ping of about 70 - 120 for a charge of 10 per month.........

....well ok then!

56K gaming is not that bad. I've played every FPS out there so far and never really had a problem. All you have to do is just filter the servers correctly and it's fine.

I've had many fantastic games of Tribes 2 which is as far as I know the most heavy online game so far!!!!!!

So all you cable and hi speed snobs should just lay off. Not everyone has Mommy and Daddy to pay for their hobby.

aazell
07-09-2002, 08:26 PM
Well I'm in the UK.

It's sh*t so what's my options.

Cable modem only in certain area's and of course not in mine.

ASDL for $75 a month. OW! can't afford that.

56k with All seeing eye - ping of about 70 - 120 for a charge of 10 per month.........

....well ok then!

56K gaming is not that bad. I've played every FPS out there so far and never really had a problem. All you have to do is just filter the servers correctly and it's fine.

I've had many fantastic games of Tribes 2 which is as far as I know the most heavy online game so far!!!!!!

So all you cable and hi speed snobs should just lay off. Not everyone has Mommy and Daddy to pay for their hobby.

Oh and do yourself a favour and get off AOL mate. Their servers are probably your biggest problem. They're way to busy with plebs web chatting to provide any kind of decent bandwith.

aaz

QuietSith
07-09-2002, 10:55 PM
On my server I set maxping to about 120.

I try to prevent 56ker's on, mainly cause they have an actual lag advantage, like one guy said 'phasing all over the place' etc.

Agen
07-10-2002, 02:21 AM
56k does NOT give an advantage, unless the guy with a cable modem wears a blindfold. if someone is warping it means both people will jerk around, nowe and again the cable mdoem can see where the 56ker is so there's no advantages for 56kers at all, and a mazping of 120 is ridiculous, a 128ker might not be able to get in on a bad day.

HellFyre69
07-10-2002, 03:35 AM
Originally posted by Agen_Terminator
56k does NOT give an advantage, unless the guy with a cable modem wears a blindfold. if someone is warping it means both people will jerk around, nowe and again the cable mdoem can see where the 56ker is so there's no advantages for 56kers at all, and a mazping of 120 is ridiculous, a 128ker might not be able to get in on a bad day.

actually... 56kers can still kick cable/dsl players. Is not about the connection that determines your skills, but how well you play the game.. No LAME excuses

Agen
07-10-2002, 03:45 AM
huh?
:confused:

JKR_LT_DODGE
07-10-2002, 11:42 AM
if you use a 56k you will get a bad connection interupted propbably a long ci. so i recommend a cable or dsl.




may the force be with you

NK_Zephorath
07-10-2002, 11:57 AM
Aazell is right.
Not everyone has the option of cable or dsl, or simply cannot afford it. Now, with 56k, you should be fine if you're playing on fast, dedicated servers. near yiu.

XERXES
07-10-2002, 12:35 PM
Originally posted by Midgit Yoda

Yes. Finally another ex-Starcraft Junkie lol. I played that online so many times it's not even funny lol.

oh man i LOOOVED that game...i made at least 30 kick ass maps me and my friends all played LAN on.

So all you cable and hi speed snobs should just lay off. Not everyone has Mommy and Daddy to pay for their hobby.

i pay for my own cable...and the ISP, even though i still live with my parents. However i move out to college in the fall and get it there too. AND i do remember the 56k days and AOL. I played Counter-Strike for the logest time on 56k and usually with 200 to 300 pings i would be fine...i had certian local servers i would play on and it is awesome.

MrYepp
07-10-2002, 02:00 PM
My advice would to be get DSL or cable, but that's not always possible. 56k is okay, but make sure you find servers that are close to you, so you don't ping 400+.. sort servers by ping, that really helps

aazell
07-10-2002, 07:58 PM
Not everyone has Mommy and Daddy to pay for their hobby.

Obviously I was refering to people who don't pay for it.

Good point from all here.

So what have we learned.

1. There are countrys outside the USA and they can at times be a bit different. Sorry if that comes as a shock.

2. Cable Modems are cool so longs as your cable firm is not sh*t and can't be bothered to roll it out to their entire network.

3. I have a bit of an attitude problem and really should learn to kirb my temper every now and again.

4. Sunny D does not contain Fruit!!!!!!

5. 56k will allow you to play FPS quake based games online with few problems as long as you don't expect to be able to get into every server on earth!

6. AOL is sh*t for gaming and so is Freeserve, So is InfoSpace and any of the other bloated corporate ISP's out there. My advice is to find a small ISP that usually offers business services but does offer a free dial up service to home users. Their servers are about the besy you can connect too. Trust me.

Oh and

7. I need to earn more money in order to service my Gaming Habit that my GF hates!

I don't think she'll go for it though................

akumas
07-10-2002, 08:29 PM
56k on your capital city servers is alright

AuggieBenDoggie
07-10-2002, 10:38 PM
I had AOL dialup, then switched to AOL DSL. My lowest PINGs to all JK2 dedicated servers were no less than 300ms. I switched to cable and now get anywhere from 10-50 on my favorites. I do think that low ping time players have an advantage. When Im dueling, it makes it MUCH easier to see your being setup for something. If your bouncing around, youll probably just end up swinging wildly or just trying to get lucky with 1 good strong stance hit.

IronJedi Kaga
07-11-2002, 02:29 AM
56k should be fine. Especailly since I play the game with a 28.8 (was supposed to be a 56k but I got screwed, winmodem with 28.8 data and 28.8 voice). Regardless it actually does play well at that speed. Try changing your data rate, by using the "\rate <number>" command in the console. I set mine at 3000 and depending on the server speed can play games with up to 16 people with a ping range anywhere from 280- 430. Though if you are consistently above 430 you should reconnect as you will begine to warp slightly.

As for the comment above made by quietsith, saying that having a high ping gives one the advnatage, thats not true. I can't count the nubmer of times I've been killed when on my end I've cleanly dodge a shot, only to warp back to where I was and die from getting hit. Btw, the warping wasnt awhile after, its like split second, ie i dodged the second before getting hit, but due to lag server read me as not dodging.

James Brophy
07-16-2002, 04:35 AM
well my dad just cares about himself with computers but hey its an advantage he gets all these flashy upgrades when we get stuck with 500mhz but when hes away i use his p.c 1.4 ghz amd! and we are in a network so we get the advantage of that little thing called broadband i dont pay! remember this though i am only 12 so well... well... sunny d sucks!:cool: haha to sunny d and well.. mc donalds burgers!

Agen
07-16-2002, 05:39 AM
going off topic a bit there eh?

Pada-Wan
07-16-2002, 06:04 AM
*fires up lightsaber* away with you spammers! I must obey my master obi-wan13....



ps.i used to have 56k. it worked ok w/duels. thats about it

DeTRiTiC-iQ
07-16-2002, 06:13 AM
IronJedi, a slower modem quite often performs better for online gaming, with 56k modems, connecting at the higher speeds, ie 46,667 and above can cause data loss to become very noticable, phonelines aren't particularly high quality, and faster modems often sacrifice quality for speed. For surfing the internet this isn't usually a problem since the odd lost string of data doesn't really have that much impact. But in an online game, for every piece of data that is lost or corrupted the server has to resend it, resulting in higher pings or even being temporarily suspended from the game.

I play with 56k on UK servers, connected at 48,000. Someone I know from somewhere in the USA or Canada has a 28k modem and gets equal pings to me on UK servers.

IronJedi Kaga
07-16-2002, 01:21 PM
Originally posted by DeTRiTiC-iQ
IronJedi, a slower modem quite often performs better for online gaming, with 56k modems, connecting at the higher speeds, ie 46,667 and above can cause data loss to become very noticable, phonelines aren't particularly high quality, and faster modems often sacrifice quality for speed. For surfing the internet this isn't usually a problem since the odd lost string of data doesn't really have that much impact. But in an online game, for every piece of data that is lost or corrupted the server has to resend it, resulting in higher pings or even being temporarily suspended from the game.

I play with 56k on UK servers, connected at 48,000. Someone I know from somewhere in the USA or Canada has a 28k modem and gets equal pings to me on UK servers.

In your case it sounds like you just have a bad modem. My friend who used to have 56k consistently has better pings than I do.

DeTRiTiC-iQ
07-17-2002, 06:45 AM
No, I have a good modem, but I live in an area with old phonelines, higher speed connections burn out the phonelines causing data loss, slowing down my connection would fix the data loss while sacrificing speed. The trick is in getting the balance right.