PDA

View Full Version : About Demos....


Darth_Made
07-08-2002, 02:49 AM
Does anyone know how to make demos??? Or where to get them?? :confused:

Of course, I mean the demos you play in multiplayer, not the game demo..

Any help is much appreciated:)

Bell
07-08-2002, 07:38 AM
are you saying you want to record game play and turn it into a demo you can load in the game?

Darth_Made
07-08-2002, 09:46 AM
Well, yes. I want to know the way other people play, moreover I want to see the best lightsaber fights out there in my own PC..

I never got to see them, y' know, I'm on 56k...:(

ALIEN_JL
07-08-2002, 06:42 PM
http://alienjl.homestead.com/files/dueldemo.zip

There are one nice little duel demo... :)

In that demo i were playing as Vader (with red/purple
saber) and opponent was Obi with blue saber... (game
was SFX2 mod game...)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

I tested that demo with all my mods turned off (it worked..
but all sounds, saber colors, hit effects, were changed to
default JK2 effects and my opponent model was changed
to kyle... +ONE WEARD THING) so you should be able to
play it too (but it doesn't look exactly like it should..)

And that weard thing is ??

It quite obvious that when i turn of my mods and then
play that demo those effects, skins and models are
changed to defaults (because how could it play with
those modified files if i have removed them...)

But when i played it my own character was still Vader
(but Vader model was removed just like all other
mods.. so how can it be ??)

volrathxp
07-08-2002, 07:57 PM
you do know demo files are just recordings of maps and that you have to include the actual map for it to work

ALIEN_JL
07-08-2002, 08:05 PM
hmm... no... bad idea...

I say if you release demos you should tell what
maps, ... you need to have in order to play it...

When map is original... no need to..

Darth_Made
07-09-2002, 12:00 AM
Hey Alien thanks for the demo!!
But I haven't been able to test it, tho.. :( like Volrath said, we need the the map in which the demo was recorded to play the demo..

So could you please tell me where to get that map?? Is it available at jediknightII.net??

And could you please tell me how to record demos?
hehe I'm asking too much, am I not??

ALIEN_JL
07-09-2002, 04:31 AM
Originally posted by Darth_Made
Hey Alien thanks for the demo!!
But I haven't been able to test it, tho.. :( like Volrath said, we need the the map in which the demo was recorded to play the demo..

So could you please tell me where to get that map?? Is it available at jediknightII.net??

And could you please tell me how to record demos?
hehe I'm asking too much, am I not??

Hmm... map is that original duel_training map
(which you should already have...)

Do you have latest version of JK2 ??

---------------------------------------------------------

If you want to make demos you must at first
type: g_synchronousClients 1 and then record

volrathxp
07-09-2002, 08:49 AM
Originally posted by ALIEN_JL
hmm... no... bad idea...

I say if you release demos you should tell what
maps, ... you need to have in order to play it...

When map is original... no need to..

that's why i'm trying to get my capture stuff working so i can just make avis of my maps in action instead of screenshots :p

Darth_Made
07-10-2002, 12:51 AM
Alien I've seen your demo now!! My copy had been ver.1.02a, so I get the patch and etc etc

But I haven't been able to record demos.. I've tried it both in SP and MP.. Should it be done in MP or SP??
Thanks for the help

ALIEN_JL
07-10-2002, 04:55 AM
Originally posted by Darth_Made
But I haven't been able to record demos.. I've tried it both in SP and MP.. Should it be done in MP or SP??
Thanks for the help

Open that console in JK2 and type

bind e g_synchronousClients 1
bind r record

(of course you can change to those
e and r to any keys you want...)

---------------------------------------------

Then when you want to record press
at first that e and then that r

NITEMARE
07-10-2002, 09:38 PM
i made this one to see what can be done and for learning purposes. nostalgic backspeep era tho hehehhe
www.nitemares.de/philes/viro.zip

ALIEN_JL
07-10-2002, 10:15 PM
Originally posted by NITEMARE
i made this one to see what can be done and for learning purposes. nostalgic backspeep era tho hehehhe
www.nitemares.de/philes/viro.zip

ÍH hmm... 16MB hmm... WHAT IS IT ???