PDA

View Full Version : Convert .gmax scene to .max scene ?


aL BeasTie
07-09-2002, 12:04 AM
Is this possibile? Does anything exist that will do that?

Also I've been searching for ages, I need something that will at least export to .3ds in gmax. I'm sure a plusin exists but I'm stumped as to where to obtain it.

Also, Kman can we get the seacrh feature activated at all?
I could probably find the answer in the forum somewhere.

Sorry if this turns out to be a useless post, but all I'm trying to do is get Boba and Plo Koon's model in game for them but becasue they are using Gmax I can't get it in MAX without losing the bones etc.

Please need some assistance. ASAP

Thanks In advance

SilentMobius
07-09-2002, 12:54 AM
Nope, the whole business model for gmax relies on there being _NO_ export or save plugins other than those that some large game company has paid a _LOT_ of money for. Gmax's internal format is _very_ esoteric for just this reason.

Twisted Vertex
07-09-2002, 01:00 AM
I am workign with Pio on his trebor model. When came across a program called "Deep exploration". You be able to save it out as md3 and export it into 3ds. Thats how i maped his model. Then i just gave the max file to the skinneer.

SilentMobius
07-09-2002, 01:16 AM
Regardless of what you do you _are_ going to loose the bone weightings I'm afraid. I have nothing against Gmax but you really shouldn't use it for anything other than mesh moddling or you're just going to get stuck.
Model in Max or XSI, because those are the only things that can produce output that carcass can handle, and carcass is the only thing we have to make glm's.
I know these aren't your mesh's but I mentioned this before to these guys and now its going to bite them in the backside.

aL BeasTie
07-09-2002, 01:25 AM
Can you explain further dude?

Also I was trying to get the Trebor model in game for Bobafett10186 (Plo Koons partner in crime)

Are you saying you've already got somewhere with it?

I thought gmax was to help discreet sell 3DSMAX. By introducing ppl to it with the lite edition.

EG.
Kewl I've downloaded gmax and learnt to model WOW
several months/years l8r!
Okay I'm more experienced now and went and bought 3DSMAX,
(and then the fateful discovery)
oh **** I can't use my Gmax scenes!

Obviously this has come up in complaints with discreet.

I just want to use a .gmax scene in 3dsmax!

From what I can tell by opening both file types in wordpad and some hex editors is that the difference is .gmax file say "I'm a gmax file" and the .max file says "I'm a 3dsmax file"

this is very frustrating

aL BeasTie
07-09-2002, 01:32 AM
soz took so long to type you'd already responded :)

Thanks for the help guys, hopefully they'll work something out.

Oh well looks like ppl can forget about doing anything in gmax for JO, becasue at one stage it has to go in MAX and that's obviously a chore. And I doubt many ppl would be willing to do basically all the hard work after someone makes there initial model.

Madjai
07-09-2002, 03:08 AM
actually with the tempest plugin you can export to .md3's, and therefore can make meshes in gmax that can be imported into max, however its only meshes, no bones. so you cant fully make player models but can make sabers very easily.

PIo Koon
07-09-2002, 03:17 AM
partner in crime? hey thats a low blow ;)..just because were sneaking in an Imperial Armored Guard doesn't mean were "bad"

o wait...yes it does =OD..cuz were also bringing in the Snow Trooper!!

hmm...1 good and 2 bad...i think that makes us partners in crime =OD


and hey al...talk in the e-mail...u shoulda asked me first before posting..i already know what to doa nd so does musashi and bradfu

aL BeasTie
07-09-2002, 08:04 PM
sorry but I was just curious about the .gmax .max thing
I know there a ways to get it in .max but it usually includes scripts or another program like Deep or something. Which is never easier than clicking an export button.

And many ppl are moddeling in gmax so this thread will be okay, wasn't really discussing your model dude sorry I mentoined it.

PIo Koon
07-09-2002, 11:27 PM
i know Beastie...i was gunu tell u where to get Deep and send u the Tempest plug in

and Deep is a program not a script =OP...and once u see it ur gunu want it..its really cool...anyway if u wanna know where to get them just e-mail me about it

aL BeasTie
07-10-2002, 12:40 AM
Yeah I know Deep is not a script :)

just haven't downloaded yet, saw it a while ago.

SilentMobius
07-10-2002, 05:46 AM
Naah the model for gmax is:

1. Give gmax away free but make sure no one can produce anything that would hurt sales of max
2. Get the communities to clamour for the game companies to support gmax(look at the gmax website under "I want my gmax")
3. Charge through the nose for gmax dev (that allows you to write "game packs" for the free gmax)

Also, a company that pays for a gmax dev licence is likely to use max for all the rest of their modling.