PDA

View Full Version : Pipes?


Decameron
07-09-2002, 05:28 PM
I've been trying to find a decent tutorial on making pipes but haven't found any so far. I've read RichDiesel's tutorials but they only explain how the basic curves can be made. Anyone knows of a good tutorial (or know an easy way) to create them?

Btw, how does the "Connect entities" function work in Gkt? I've been trying to "connect" two patches together to be able to select them both with a click without luck so far.

Thanks in advance,
Decameron

patchx
07-09-2002, 05:54 PM
when i make pipes i just make a cylinder and then bend it using the bending tool (even though everyone says not to) and then fix it up by dragging the vertices around a bit so that it doesnt go all irregular from the bending tool

if u want to block the ends off (if they're visible) use a cap from the curves menu

u can group patches and brushes by selecting all the ones u want in the group and then right clicking and selecting func_group

RichDiesal
07-10-2002, 04:55 AM
You could also make it with bevels just like I made the curved corridor ceiling - except make four bevels in a ring instead of just the two. Reverse the matrix to the outside and there's your pipe.

Decameron
07-10-2002, 05:26 AM
Thanks for the info. It wasn't exactly what I was looking for, but I didn't know how to do that either, and I think I will be using it to add some detail.

My real problem is making pipes that can be seen both from the inside and outside. A pipe you can go into. Like the pipe at the very beginning of one of the default levels, where you have to fight the AT-STs. :atat: You start inside a pipe, go out of it and it can be viewed from the outside too.

Btw, thanks for the replies and to Rich's for his tutorials... my (very first) level is shaping up pretty good. Only problem is it's taking too much time, especially the textures part. Heh, I guess that's normal tho.

Oh, before I forget, one last question... I created a platform that comes up when you get close to an edge or when you step on it. The switch part works, but I want to be able to have the platform stay there until I go away from the edge. Is this possible? If so, how? :confused:

Thank in advance (again),
Decameron :D