PDA

View Full Version : Making model parts disappear?


KapnKeg
07-10-2002, 07:59 AM
Does anybody know how to make part of a model disappear?

If it's possible, I was wanting to release my clonetrooper with two different heads. One would obviously be the clonetrooper head and the other would be that of a clonepilot ... since their bodies are identical. Is this possible using only one .glm? Thanks in advance for the help, it's greatly appreciated.

Madjai
07-10-2002, 08:10 AM
i dont think you can make a head dissapear and then another one appear, i think turning off surfaces is only used for extra items, like holsters and such.

KapnKeg
07-10-2002, 08:24 AM
I don't really understand why making a head dissappear should be all that much different than making a holster do the same. So, for the sake of giving it a shot ... how would you make a holster dissappear?

Madjai
07-10-2002, 08:42 AM
no what im saying is you cant make a new head appear afterwards, so youd have a headless horsemen type thing going.

KapnKeg
07-10-2002, 09:02 AM
Madjai ... thanks for the feedback.

I understand what you're saying, so here's the logic that I'm using to decide that this should be possible. With the stormtrooper model, his shoulderpads are there, but apparently they're able to be turned off. If you can turn them off, surely there's a way to turn them on (or, not turn the off in the first place). So, I should be able to have both heads in the same file (with different names, of course), only I turn off one head for one model and then turn the other one off for the other. If I can just find a way to hide certain objects in the geometry, I have no doubt that I can make this work.

At the very worst, I could simply include two separate pk3's in my release, but I think it would be cooler to do it this way and KNOW HOW TO do it this way.

Sounds Risky
07-10-2002, 09:25 AM
The Jedi model has two seperate heads. Jedi has the default head and Jedi2 has another head that is turned on while the default head is turned off. You should be able to do something similar.

Emon
07-10-2002, 09:27 AM
Yes, you can, just like the Jedi model, also the prisoner model (same model).