PDA

View Full Version : Hmm, what height should I use for steps?


KingJohn
07-11-2002, 10:14 PM
I'm making a set of steps, what height should I make each step so you don't have to jump up the steps?


Thanks in advance for any help

Drakewl
07-11-2002, 10:34 PM
just a repost with all info regarding player scale:

Player width: comes up as 32 but will only fit through 48.
Player can jump: Without force, up 48 grids.
Player can crouch: Under a gap of 48x48.

With force jump:
Height: 512 Units. Can land on 448 units.
Length: 832 Units... more with speed

Keep in mind, when corridors have roofs on them, in 3rd person view it can be very crowded if the height of that corridor is only 128 units (8 grids). I usually make these 192 units high (12 grids).
Floors for corridors are nicely sized at 256

Step height: The player can step up 16 gridunits without having to jump.
For a neater looking set of stairs, try using 8 gridunits

Xzzy
07-11-2002, 10:38 PM
8-10 units is normal for a single step. 8 is probably best because it's a power of 2, but if you've really gotta do some climbing ten will get you there faster.

I avoid stairs though because I hate that jerking effect you get when running up them. Use ramps whenever you can unless there's a good design reason not to.

Or alternatively you can make the stairs as big as you want, then put an invisible ramp brush over the top of them so it looks like stairs, but the player is actually walking on the ramp.

KingJohn
07-11-2002, 10:39 PM
Wow thats great thanks for the info. :D