PDA

View Full Version : GTK Radiant Problem


Locke101
07-12-2002, 09:20 AM
Hey, for all you great experienced mappers out there. I got a problem. When ever i compile a map with GTK, it never compiles the lighting with it. I go inside the game and load the .bsp adn the map is all bright with no lighting affects at all! Its really starting to tick me off! I even tryed the bso relight command in GTK but nothing works. Has anyone had this problem or at least know how to solve it!

Manquesa
07-12-2002, 09:47 AM
which bsp are you doing, try either bsp fullvis, or bsp fullvis(extra)

Also I recommend compiling in JK2Radiant instead

Locke101
07-12-2002, 10:08 AM
i am using BSP FULL VIS, and i now tried the BSP FULL VIS (extra) still not working..... :(

Manquesa
07-12-2002, 10:14 AM
This may be a stupid question but, do you have any light entities or light shader's in your map?

Locke101
07-12-2002, 10:16 AM
yes i do....and i thinki might have found the problem. I checked the junk file and it says :::Leaked::: and i don't know where the leak is. Is there a way to find it?

Manquesa
07-12-2002, 10:25 AM
When there's a leak, there should be a big red line on your map after you compile telling you where the leak is. Also in the menu bar the should be an option to "find next leak spot". Just follow the red line and look for anything that may be open to the void or goes through the wall or sky into the void.

Emon
07-12-2002, 10:39 AM
Originally posted by Manquesa
Also I recommend compiling in JK2Radiant instead

Er, GTKRad and JK2Rad both use sof2map to compile, there's no difference.

Manquesa
07-12-2002, 10:58 AM
Originally posted by Emon


Er, GTKRad and JK2Rad both use sof2map to compile, there's no difference.


umm, ok

:freakout:

Emon
07-12-2002, 11:11 AM
I was pointing out that compiling in GTKRad is identicle to compiling in JK2Rad.

Locke101
07-12-2002, 11:24 PM
ok i fixed the leak, but i still can't get the lighting to work. the level still keeps coming up bright even though i am using the star sky shader and i have light entities in the map. !!!!!!!!!

JediPunk
07-13-2002, 12:45 AM
Originally posted by Locke101
ok i fixed the leak, but i still can't get the lighting to work. the level still keeps coming up bright even though i am using the star sky shader and i have light entities in the map. !!!!!!!!!

Well...This may sound stupid but you should always check to make sure you haven't placed the lighting entities under/in the floor or above/in the ceiling.

Check that in the 3D/Wireframe view in GTK Radiant.
I use 3D view so that it's easier to tell if there's a leak or a misplace of entities.

Locke101
07-13-2002, 01:00 AM
oh they're not inside or stuck in anything, i already checked that

Xzzy
07-13-2002, 01:43 AM
how big is the map?

it doesn't seem like you have any unresolved technical errors.. all I can think of is that your map is under 100k in size which causes problems with lighting.

past that it's hard to say. If there is a problem it'll be reported in the log that gets saved in the windows/temp directory.

Locke101
07-13-2002, 04:38 AM
the current file size is around 300 kb. I am going to try compiling the map iwth the JkRadiant but use GTk radiant for map building b/c it has more features.

Xzzy
07-13-2002, 05:29 AM
compiling with a different editor won't do jack crap for you, both jkradiant and gtkradiant use the sof2map program that raven distributed. Right down to the very same version.

it's possible the command line arguments in gtk are screwed up so it's not doing the lighting stage, but that's about it.

Locke101
07-13-2002, 06:25 AM
there has to be somethign wrong with GTK radiant somehwere in its coding b/c iused JkRAdiant and my lighting works fine now