PDA

View Full Version : I can't start SP anymore


Kranckor
07-18-2002, 06:09 AM
I get this error:
JK2: v1.02a win-x86 Mar 4 2002
Initialising zone memory .....
----- FS_Startup -----
ERROR: filename length > MAX_QPATH ( strlen(Program Files/LucasArts/Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast/GameData/base/levelshots/) = 78)

Anybody know what's going on all I know is it has something to do with the base folder, please help me

Harukaze
07-18-2002, 06:41 AM
I dunno how to fix it, but I get that when trying to use ModView, and I haven't figured it out either. MAX_QPATH is evil, either way.

Emon
07-18-2002, 07:12 AM
The path to your game is too damn long. Quake III wasn't meant to be installed to C:\Program Files\Useless Company Folder\Useless Game Folder\Quake 3, it was designed to be installed to C:\Quake3. I'd suggest reinstalling to a shorter path, such as C:\Jedi Outcast or C:\Games\Jedi Outcast.

Faye Ying
07-23-2002, 03:54 AM
max_qpath is obviously a variable or soemthing that expresses the maximum levels your folders can be.

your file name apparently for soemthing is greater than this maximum so it crashes.

and emon's explanation doens't erally work though.
i have mines instlaled to default path with uesless company folders and mine works perfectly fine